Reading Slump

By my lack of book reviews it may come as no surprise to some of you that I have been in a bit of a reading slump this last week or so. Part of it is the simple fact that the semester has really started to pick up speed and that I have been a bit stressed lately. As much as I enjoy reading, when I am stressed I tend to stop reading as much. I wish I didn’t but I do. Another reason is that the book I am currently reading, although I am enjoying it, isn’t what I feel like I should be reading right now. It’s a book about death and how different cultures mark its passing, and, while its very interesting I can only seem to read it in small bits. I wish I had one of my old favorites that I could turn to right now but as I am away at school I left them at home and only brought books that I haven’t yet read back with me. Another thing that I do when I’m stressed it to watch more TV. I don’t have a TV here at school but my family has a Netflix account and so I have been watching movies on my computer. In the last week or so I have watched an embarrassing amount. I honestly don’t remember a time when I have watched so much. But luckily everything that I have watched I have enjoyed and so I know that I have wasted a whole lot of time this past week at least I enjoyed doing so.
Here is what I’ve watched this past week:
BBC’s Downton Abbey Seasons 1, 2 and the Christmas Special.
BBC’s North and South mini-series
Gosford Park

Michael Collins

The Wind that Shakes the Barley

Brostal Boy

In the Name of the Father

The Secret of Kells. OMG this is a kids movie but the animation is AMAZING. Its seriously some of the best I’ve seen.

This is England
Mississippi Burning
Like I said, I’ve been watching a lot of movies. I liked all of them but my favorites were Downton Abbey, the Wind that Shakes the Barley, In the Name of the Father, and the Secret of Kells. Hopefully I’ll be out of this book funk soon and will be back to updating more regularly.
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

