Look What I Got!

Earlier this month Kim over at Reflections of a Book Addict  held a giveaway for Valentine’s Day and I won a book! There were 6 books that I could choose from and I decided on The Confessions of Fitzwilliam Darcy. Here’s a picture of the book along with a short summary from Goodreads:
Originally published in the U.K., Mary Street’s ingenious retelling of Jane Austen’s classic story now makes its U.S. debut-to the delight of the fans of Austen’s comic masterpiece of divine romance. In Fitzwilliam Darcy, Austen created the ultimate romantic hero. Yet Pride and Prejudicereveals little of Darcy’s innermost thoughts. Here, Street unveils the true motives and mysteries of Elizabeth Bennet’s enigmatic suitor. Through Darcy’s eyes we discover the reality of his relationships with his sister Georgiana, his cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam, the dastardly Wickham, his friend Bingley, and his formidable aunt, Lady Catherine. And of course, all his memorable encounters with Elizabeth, from that first view of her fine eyes to his disastrous proposal, and then to a pride and arrogance tempered by an unquenchable love.
I read Pride and Prejudice several years ago and I enjoyed it very much. I have seen several ‘sequels’ to the book but I have never actually read one. I admit I am a bit wary of them as it makes me feel that if you choose to write a book based on someone else’s work and not your own then perhaps you don’t have much talent or originality. This may not be a fair judgement on my part I know but that’s how I instinctively feel. I’m also a bit afraid that these type of books will ruin the characters that I love so much in the original. However I am going to give this one a shot and, if it turns out that its not my cup of tea at the very least it will probably give me the motivation I’ve been needing to reread Pride and Prejudice again! Thanks again for the book Kim! This is the first book that I have ever won and I am a bit excited for it.
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Look What I Got!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look What I Got!

  1. TBM says:

    Congrats! I hope you enjoy it and that it doesn’t ruin the original. I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and really liked it.

Leave a Reply

