Planning for 2013

     So I thought I had said everything that could possibly be said about my reading plans for 2013 in my post Looking Towards 2013 but apparently not! I’ve been thinking about what I want to accomplish for the year and, knowing that I am a very organic reader, and that previous attempts at planning what I want the reading year to accomplish have failed, I have come to the conclusion that I need to be more strict in how I approach reading. I love reading and I don’t want to take the fun out of it, but I am a very emotional reader and I get distracted easily, so I think that having a bit of structure will help keep me on task so that I will be able to actually accomplish what I want to instead of just having plans that never come to anything.
   book  I’ve also come to realize that 2013 is quite the year for book anniversaries! A post by TBM reminded me that 2013 is the bicentenary for the publication of  Pride and Prejudice. I read P&P in high school and I enjoyed it immensely but it is the only Austen book I’ve read. I’ve often thought that I should read her other works as I think that I would enjoy them but for one reason or another I never have. February 2013 is also the 50 year anniversary for the publication of The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan. I’ve had this book on my self going on 6 1/2 year and I’ve read the introduction once or twice but I’ve never actually started the book itself. I don’t think I am going to make it a goal to read all of Austen’s novels this year. With the challenges and read-alongs I’m planning for I’m afraid of committing to too much. So instead of reading all six I am going to try to read her first three, which is one book for every four months which I think is doable.
    So to keep track of what I want to accomplish, I’ve decided to create a schedule for my own use and so that if anyone else has read any of the books I list they can comment about them if they choose, and also just in case anyone else is curious about what I’m planning to read for the year they can take a peak and see! I am listing the books under the month that I hope to finish them by and whether they are for a challenge, read-along, or personal goal.
January
My Antonia by Willa Cather (challenge)- done!
The Last Days of the Romanovs: Tragedy at Ekaterinburg by Helen Rappaport (read-along)- currently reading.
February  
Bleak House by Charles Dickens (challenge)
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (personal goal)
 A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson (read-along)
March
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner (challenge)- I’ve already read this book previously but I enjoyed it; if I’m not behind after what I want to accomplish for February I think I would enjoy rereading it.
A Star Called Henry by Roddy Doyle (challenge)
April 
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (challenge)
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (personal goal)
May
Angel of Repose by Wallace Stegner (challenge)
June
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith (challenge)
Skippy Dies by Paul Murray (challenge)- I’ve had this book forever; excited that I’m finally going to read it!
July
Middlemarch by George Eliot (challenge)- I’m excited for this one!
August
The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet (challenge)- I read this book a few years ago; I didn’t enjoy it and, with its length, I don’t plan to reread it for the challenge.
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (personal goal)- rereading this should be fun!
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (read-along)- I started reading it this month (January) as part of a month-long group read but I decided to break up the reading  to roughly 1 part/ month (there are 8 parts) to make it more manageable and so that I can read other stuff as I go along.
September
Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons (challenge)- another one I’m quite excited for!
Malachy McCourt’s History of Ireland by Malachy McCourt (challenge)- I want to read one non-fiction book for the Ireland Challenge but I’m not sure if I should read this or Cecil Woodham-Smith’s The Great Hunger: Ireland 1845-1849– anyone have any thoughts?
October
The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (challenge)
November
1984 by George Orwell (challenge)- my sister recently read this for school and hated it; hopefully I’ll like it more than her.
December: 
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro (challenge)
 Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
 At Swim Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill (challenge)- I’ve been dying to read this for I don’t know how long!
      If I stick roughly to this schedule by the end of the year I’ll have completed my challenges and personal reading goals. This list is only 21 books long, less than half of all the books I read this past year. Seeing it planned out like this is reassuring because till now I was worried I was wanting to do too much, however; looking at the list now makes it seem doable. I don’t tend to be very structured when I read so hopefully this will help and besides, for the rest of my year’s reading I can read whatever I want! Some of the month’s seem harder than others (I’m looking at you February!), but if I don’t complete the list exactly as I’ve written that’s OK; my main goal is to introduce some structure into my reading and to set out a plan so that I can reach obtainable milestones.
     So that’s that! Have you read any of these books, if so which ones should I be the most excited for or wary of?
      Also, I was looking at my TBR list and the idea came to me to maybe do a biweekly or once monthly post were either I or someone else suggests a topic and I look at my TBR list and pick a few books that fit the theme. I would list them on here, state what the book’s about, why I want to read it etc so that people can comment on if they’ve read any of them and suggest other books they’ve enjoyed on the topic and I can ask for recommendations if I don’t have many books in the way of a theme. That way if someone’s particularly interested in a topic there’s a starting point and hopefully if people seem to enjoy a particular book I can bump it up on my list. Would anyone be interested in something like this? If you are suggest a topic!  And even if no one is I think I might just do it anyway because I think writing up a post like that would be fun 🙂 When I was looking at my TBR list what struck me was the amount to books I’ve listed that have to do with war so I might go with that as the first topic.
     Well I think that’s it for now; I’m going to post this and then get back to reading The Last Days of the Romanovs which I am very much enjoying.
Currently reading: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy; The Last Days of the Romanovs: Tragedy at Ekaterinburg by Helen Rappapot; Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson.
Next on the Blog: Review- The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Classics, Fiction, Historical Fiction, History, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Planning for 2013

  1. shorouksamir says:

    Your list of books is sooo much interesting i even planning to read some of the books in it 🙂

  2. TBM says:

    I’m impressed by your schedule. You are much more organized than me! I haven’t read the Feminine Mystique yet and I was unaware that this is the 50th anniversary. We are learning from each other. Happy reading!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 1/20/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

