Booking Through Thursday- 1/17/13

btt2Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading. Today’s question is:
It’s the depths of winter here where I live right now… what books do you read when it’s snowy and white? What books do you read to evoke a real feeling of winter (good or bad)?
     During winter I don’t consciously pick out books dealing with the cold, snow, and ice. This might be because I live in Florida where what ‘winter’ we have is very mild compared to most other places. Off the top of my head though some of the books I’ve read with a ‘winter theme’ are books I read in childhood, for example, Little House in the Big Woods and The Long Winterr by Laura Ingalls Wilder, Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen, and White Fang by Jack London.

What are your favorite winter reads?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Children's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Booking Through Thursday- 1/17/13

  1. How unexpected to see ‘Little house of the prairy’ as a winterbook, but I think I can see where you are coming from.
    have a good weekend, kind regards,

    • hillarypat says:

      Well, The Long Winter, with all the snow and ice definitely seems wintery to my mind and in the version of Little House in the Big Woods I read they had these big colored illustrations and it all seemed warm and cozy so I think that’s why I associate them with winter.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 1/20/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

