The Classics Club!

classicsclub

 After some though I have decided to join The Classics Club! The Classics Club “is a club created to inspire people to read and blog about classic books.” To join, all you need to do is pick at least 50 classics that you would like to read. I have picked 80 classics that interest me to. Part of the challenge is to pick your own ‘end date;’ the date when you expect to finish all the books on your list. For me, I think at least 10 books from the list a year will be challenging enough so that I can make progress, but not too difficult that I get frustrated. While I am mainly joining the challenge to help expand my literary horizons, I also want this challenge to be fun! Keeping that in mind I am setting my end date for January 18, 2021. The list below is not final; I may add or subtract from the list and adjust my end date in the future depending on what I feel I can manage.
I am not planning on reading the below list in order. Some of these books I own but the vast majority I do not. Some of them I have read and, for one reason or another, I want to reread them. And luckily, some of the books on my list I am already planning to read this year as part of challenges, read-alongs, or as a personal goal I have set myself. If I am successful with sticking to my plan for the year I will have read 13 of the books on the list, leaving ‘only’ 67 left on my list! What I am hoping to read for this challenge is listed below.
Alcott, Louisa May: Little Women
Angelou, Maya: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Atwood, Margaret: A Handmaid’s Tale
Atwood, Margaret: The Blind Assassin
Austen, Jane: Complete Juvenillia
Austen, Jane: Emma
Austen, Jane: Lady Susan 
Austen, Jane: Mansfield Park
Austen, Jane: Northanger Abbey 
Austen, Jane: Persuasion
Austen, Jane: Pride and Prejudice
Austen, Jane: Sanditon
Austen, Jane: Selected Letters
Austen, Jane: Sense and Sensibility
Austen, Jane: The Watsons
Barrie, J.M.: Peter Pan
Bradbury, Ray: Fahrenheit 451
Bronte, Anne: The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
Bronte, Emily: Withering Heights
Buck, Pearl S.: The Good Earth
Burgess, Anthony: A Clockwork Orange
Burnett, Frances Hodgson: A Little Princess
Burnett, Frances Hodgson: The Secret Garden
Burns, Olive: Cold Sassy Tree
Carroll, Lewis: Alice in Wonderland
Cather, Willa: Death Comes for the Archbishop
Cather, Willa: O Pioneers!
Cather, Willa: The Song of the Lark
Chaucer, Geoffrey: The Canterbury Tales
Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White
Confucius: Analects
Danielwski, Mark Z: House of Leaves
Darwin, Charles: The Origin of Species
de Cerantes, Miguel: Don Quixote
de Saint-Euxpery, Antoine: The Little Prince
Dickens, Charles: Bleak House
Dickens, Charles: David Copperfield
Dickens, Charles: Oliver Twist
Dickens, Charles: Tale of Two Cities
Dostoevsky, Fyodor: Crime and Punishment
Douglass, Frederick: A Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan: The Complete Sherlock Holmes
Du Maurier, Daphne: Rebecca
Dumas, Alexandre: The Count of Monte Cristo
Eliot, George: Middlemarch
Eliot, George: The Mill on the Floss
Frank, Anne: The Diary of Anne Frank
Gaskell, Elizabeth: North and South
Gaskell, Elizabeth: The Life of Charlotte Bronte
Gaskell, Elizabeth: Wives and Daughters
Gibbons, Stella: Cold Comfort Farm
Holtby, Winifred: South Riding
Irving, John: A Prayer for Owen Meany
Ishiguro, Kazuo: Remains of the Day
Kerouac, Jack: On the Road
Lawrence, D.H.: Lady Chatterley’s Lover
Lee, Harper: To Kill a Mockingbird
Malory, Sir Thomas: Le Morte d’Arthur
Marquez, Gabriel Garcia: Love in the Time of Cholera
Mitchell, Margaret: Gone with the Wind
Montgomery, L.M.: Anne of Green Gables
Montgomery, L.M.: Rilla of Ingleside
O’Neill, Jamie: At Swim, Two Boys
Orwell, George: 1984
Plath, Sylvia: The Bell Jar
Seton, Anya: Katherine
Shakespeare, William: Hamlet
Shakespeare, William: Macbeth
Shakespeare, William: Much Ado About Nothing
Shakespeare, William: Othello
Shelley, Mary: Frankenstein
Shikibu, Murasaki: The Tale of Genji
Smith, Betty: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Steinbeck, John: The Grapes of Wrath
Stoker, Bram: Dracula
Tan, Amy: The Joy Luck Club
Thoreau, Henry David: Walden
Tolstoy, Leo: Anna Karenina
Tolstoy, Leo: War and Peace
White, T.H.: The Once and Future King
I’m quite excited for this. What about you; have you joined a classics related challenge?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, The Classics Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Classics Club!

  1. Lee-Anne says:

    I love your list! We have so much overlap in the books we chose. I am reading or re-reading only classics I already own otherwise our lists might be identical :). There are a couple of titles on your list I’ve never heads of before and look forward to investigating: “Katherine” and “At Swim, Two Boys” are both new to me. I look forward to following your reviews on these titkes!

    • Lee-Anne says:

      Ugh for autocorrect!

      My apologies – and I reassure you that I do know how to spell. Proof-reading, on the other hand…

    • hillarypat says:

      It’s great that we have such an overlap of books- I love talking about books I’ve just read with those who have also read them! Unfortunately the amount of classics I own is distressingly small; a lot of these books I feel I should own anyway as a part of my goal of having a well-rounded personal library, so a lot of these books are on my to-buy list! “Katherine,” historical-fiction, tells the story of the love affair of John of Gaunt and Katherine Swynford, who at the time was already married. Their descendants form the majority of the modern-day British royal family which to me makes the story that more intriguing! “At Swim, Two Boys” is a book I have been meaning to read forever; it’s a coming of age story set during the year before the 1916 Irish Easter Uprising in Ireland- I’m reading it this year as part of a challenge and I am quite excited!

      And I’m a horrendous speller; I depend on spell check to make my posts and comments readable!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 1/20/13 | ahorseandacarrot

  3. Peggy says:

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page regularly, this website is in fact nice and the viewers are really sharing nice thoughts.

  4. Pingback: January Round Up and Looking Toward February | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

