Sunday Salon- 1/20/13

   TSSbadge1  Hello, I hope you are all having a nice, relaxing Sunday. Today I have no plans in particular, I’ve walked the dog, had breakfast and am now watching TV, reading, and helping to keep tack of my one year-old nephew.
     Yesterday, I finished The Last Days of the Romanovs: Tragedy at Ekaterinburg  by Helen Rappaort. This book has been on my TBR list for a while, but even so I was very impressed. It was not only highly absorbing but I also learned a bunch; before reading this book I only knew the bare outline of the Romanovs’ and their murders and even less about the situation in Russia at that time. I’m expecting to have a full review on the book posted tomorrow, but for now I would like to say that my interest is piqued in not only reading more about the Romanovs but in Russian history in general.
     I am currently reading several books: Anna Karenina (whose section I’d planned to read for January I’ve already finished), Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (which I’ve temporarily set aside to focus on recent library acquisitions), A Short History of  Nearly Everything (which I am reading as part of a group read), and All Roads Lead to Austen: A Year Long Journey with Jane (which I picked because it seemed fun and I thought would be a nice introduction to my personal goal to reading the first three of Austen’s novels this year).
     Right now, I’m reading All Roads Lead to Austen; I’m only two chapters in but so far I am enjoying it. Later, probably after dinner, I’m going to pick up A Short History of Nearly Everything, whose first six chapters I need to have finished by Friday for the group read. I read the first two chapters last night which I very much enjoyed. So far the book has focused on the creation of the universe and also our own solar system and planets. The next section I’m starting will, I believe, deal with the earth itself. So far its a quick, enjoyable read.

What about you? What are you reading this Sunday?

This week on the blog:
Looking Toward 2013…
My Antonia by Willa Cather
Planning for 2013 
Booking Through Thursday 1/17/13
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
The Classics Club!
Friday Finds
Library Loot

 

 

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Salon- 1/20/13

  1. TBM says:

    All Roads Lead to Austen sounds interesting. I wonder if the library has a copy. I started Northanger Abbey yesterday, but didn’t get too far. Not sure how I’ll like it yet.

Leave a Reply

