It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? and a call for recommendations

    its monday It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme hosted at Book Journey. The purpose of the meme is to share what you are, or will be, reading this week.  This week I am reading: A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson for a group read I am participating in and All Roads Lead to Austen: A Yearlong Journey with Jane by Amy Elizabeth Smith. I am also currently reading two other books: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy- I am reading one section of this book a month; I’ve already completed January’s section so I have put it aside til February. I am also about 20 pages in to Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson but I have temporarily set it aside to focus on some books that I have checked out of the library.
     This week I am hoping to finish All Roads Lead to Austen and start Mrs Robinson’s Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady by Kate Summerscale.I want to have these two books finished by February because, as they are new arrivals in our library system, they can not be renewed.
     In other news, happy Martin Luther King day! I was looking through my TBR yesterday and realized that the only thing I have that could be considered civil-rights or black history themed is The Help by Katherine Stockett and Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass. So, I would like to ask for recs! Memoirs, biographies, history books, fiction, writings by civil rights leaders, anything you can recommend dealing with the civil-rights era or black history would be most welcome. I would like to try to squeeze in at least one book on one of those topics in February for black history month although, with my plans to read Bleak House and The Feminine Mystique next month, I am not sure how far I will get. But I am willing to try and, if I have to, finish in March. I must confess that I am very under-read in this area, something that I have been wanting to rectify for a while now. Any and all recs will be most welcome!

What are you reading this week?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, It's Monday! What Are You Reading?, Memes, Nonfiction, Science, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? and a call for recommendations

  1. surrah19 says:

    Great civil rights book – Warriors Don’t Cry by Melba Pattilo Beals. Enjoy! 🙂

  2. A person necessarily assist to make significantly posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular submit extraordinary. Excellent process!

  3. the books you mentioned – All Roads Lead to Austen and Mrs Robinson’s Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady by Kate Summerscale.both sound good by the name itself..
    The Help – oh.. that is on my TBR still as well. and hope I can read it soon

  4. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 1/27/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

