A Modern March

Modernist Lit Button

 

     Allie over at A Literary Odyssey is hosting an event called “A Modern March” for the month of march. The aim of the event is to focus on modernist literature. I am already planning to reread As I Lay Dying by Faulkner for the 2013 “I’ve Always Meant to Read that Book” Challenge so I though I would join and perhaps read one more book by a modernist author. I am not that familiar with Modernist literature besides what I read in school- I read The Light in August by Faulkner which I did not particularly care for, The Great Gatsby which I hated, and A Farewell to Arms which was OK, and a few others. I have not had the greatest track record with modernism, tending to dislike the books I have read in the genre more often then liking them, but I want to expand my understanding of the genre all the same. I am thinking of either reading a work by Virginia Woolf or perhaps D.H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover which is on my Classic Club list. I think I will play it by ear. I’m glad to have a chance to read more books during this time period, which up till now I fear I have negelcted because of disliking what I had to read for school. For those of you more experienced with modernist works, what would you recommend?

 

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Modern March

  1. Pingback: January Round Up and Looking Toward February | ahorseandacarrot

  2. Oh, goodness. I think Gatsby definitely deserves a re-read. I hated it the first time, enjoyed it the second, and fell madly in love with it the third time around.

    As I Lay Dying is probably my favorite Faulkner (so far) but I really appreciated Light in August, too. And A Farewell to Arms is my favorite Hemingway (although The Garden of Eden is a very close second and my re-read of Old Man and the Sea enhanced my appreciation for that one, too. Also really enjoyed Islands in the Stream… ah!).

    Woolf could be a good choice, though she’s not the easiest to read. I know a lot of people are planning to read Mrs. Dalloway, so that could be fun. I’m probably going to host a read-along for T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land & Other Poems, as many have listed that as a probable reading selection, too. Personally, I’ll be reading A Room of One’s Own (Woolf); Miss Lonelyhearts (Nathanael West – if you haven’t read him, I highly recommend The Day of the Locust); and The Waste Land (Eliot). I doubt I’ll be able to get to any others, but if I do… yay!

    • hillarypat says:

      I know I defiantly need to reread Gatsby. I read it when I was a sophomore in high school and I think it just wasn’t the right time for me. Thanks for telling me about the read along- I’ve been wanting to read more poetry so this could be just the thing for me! And thanks for all the suggestions; I’ve read very little modernist literature so this is a great starting place for me. I’m going to look some of these, decide what else I want to read for A Modern March and put some of your other suggestions on my TBR!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 2/3/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

