January Round Up and Looking Toward February

     Well January is almost over, I hope you all had a good start to 2013! My month was OK; I got a good amount of reading done and although some of what I read wasn’t what I had expected or planned on overall I am pleased with my month reading-wise. This month I read:  My Antonia by Willa Cather, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce, The Last Days of the Romanovs: Tragedy at Ekaterinburg by Helen Rappaport, All Roads Lead to Austen: A Yearlong Journey with Jane by Amy Elizabeth Smith, Mrs. Robinson’s Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady by Kate Summerscale, and The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had by Susan Wise Bauer. I also read the first 12 chapters in A Short History of Nearly Everything for a read-along, part one of Anna Karenina and 35 pages of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Here’s a breakdown of my reading this month:
Number of books read: 6
Number of fiction read: 2
Number of non-fiction read: 4
Number of pages read: 1,870
Book sources for the month: 5 from the library, 1 from my own shelves
Best book of the month: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry for fiction, The Last Days of the Romanovs for non-fiction.
Books counted toward challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: My Antonia (2013 “I’ve Always Meant to Read that Book” Challenge), and  The Last Days of the Romanovs (read-along).
Challenges/events joined: The Classics Club, My personal project based off of Susan Wise Bauer’s The Well-Educated Mind, Celebrating Dickens, and A Modern March.
Here’s what I wanted to accomplish during the month of January:
My Antonia by Willa Cather (challenge)- done!
The Last Days of the Romanovs: Tragedy at Ekaterinburg by Helen Rappaport (read-along)- done!
Part one of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)- done!
     Overall I am happy with what my progress. I met all my goals for challenges, read-alongs, or for personal goals. I didn’t cross anything off my Classics Club list or my Well-Educated Mind project but I am not upset about that. I had a good reading month which was the perfect way to start off the new year. Here’s what I hope to accomplish for February:
Bleak House by Charles Dickens (challenge)
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (personal goal)
 A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson (read-along)
Part two of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (up to page 319) (personal goal)
     Bleak House is for the 2013 “I’ve Always Meant to Read that Book” Challenge. The copy that I have is 989 pages! For this book to count for the challenge I need to have it’s review up by the 28th so I have 27 days to finish the book, which works out to about 36 pages a day. As long as I stick with it I should be able to finish on time. I want to make this book a priority so that I don’t fall behind. I want to read The Feminine Mystique because February is the 50th anniversary of its publication and I have been wanting to read it for a while.I really want to read this and ‘get it out of the way,’ so to speak. It’s also on my Classics Club List and on the list for my Well-Educated Mind Project which is nice. I would also like to read something in honor of February being Black History Month as well, such as maybe rereading To Kill a Mockingbird, but I am not sure if I will get around to it because of the length of Bleak House. I think I will just hope for the best and see what happens!

How was your January? What are your plans for February?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, The Classics Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January Round Up and Looking Toward February

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon- 2/3/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

