Sunday Salon- 2/3/13

 
TSSbadge1     I hope you are having a wonderful Superbowl Sunday so far! My plan for the day is to relax, read, watch the game, and enjoy some yummy food! No matter what team you’re rooting for I hope you have a great game day. I am not really a fan of either teams (my teams are the Saints and the Washington Redskins) but I’ve decided to root for the Ravens for the sake of having a team to cheer for!
     Reading wise I have not accomplished much this week. I didn’t complete a single book, although I am about 30 pages from finishing Fear and Loathing in Los Vegas. I am on track so far with Bleak House although I did have a nasty surprise- the book I have has notes for unfamiliar words from the era etc. but I didn’t realize that the notes for each chapter also allude to stuff that happens further in the book so I accidentally spoiled myself twice! I’ve decided not to peak at the notes again unless there is a word that I just can’t make the meaning from given the context. Besides that I am enjoying it, although for some reason before reading the book it never occurred to me that Bleak House might actually be a real house in the book! Otherwise I am still reading A Short History of Nearly Everything for a group read along. There are so many interesting facts in here! For example, did you know that inside each of our bodies there is enough energy that, if it were released, would explode with an intensity equal to thirty hydrogen bombs?! How cool is that?!
     In other news, this week I posted a review of The Well-Educated Mind and my start of a personal project based on the book. I am still working on adding titles to the list, especially non-western works. If you have any suggestions, please let me know!
     I also posted about my plans for February reading-wise. I have chosen to mainly focus on Bleak House at the beginning of this month and to hopefully, if not finish it early, then to be ahead so that I am free to read other things as well later this month without having the book hanging over my head. This means that I will probably have very few reviews the next week or so, although I do plan to finish Fear and Loathing in Los Vegas today and to post the review tomorrow. I will still be around though, hopefully with some other posts to make up for the lack of reviews.
     Oh! I almost forgot, but this week I won a giveaway hosted by Rachel at A Home Between the Pages! In honor of this year being the year of the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice Rachel and the people at Quirk Books teamed up to host a Pride and Prejudice themed giveaway! I won The Jane Austen Handbook: Proper Life Skills from Regency England by Margaret C. Sullivan. I can’t wait to get this book and devour it! It seems I really am starting off this year, when I plan to read the first three of Austen’s novels, well! Thanks again Rachel and Quirk Books for hosting this giveaway! I’ve only won two other giveaways before, and believe it or not, both times I won books Pride and Prejudice related! Thanks goodness I absolutely adore that book or other wise I might be put out!
This week on the blog:
The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had by Susan Wise Bauer and my Well-Educated Mind Personal Project
Celebrating Dickens! 
A Modern March
January Round Up and Looking Toward February

 

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

