Booking Through Thursday- 2/7/13

btt2     Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading. Today’s question is:
Do other people influence what you choose to read? When a family member recommends something, or a friend says they hated a book you were planning to read … does it affect your reading choices?
 Yes, to some extent other people do influence what I choose to read. Quite a number of books on my TBR are books that I’ve seen other bloggers either review or mention and that I though sounded interesting. Family members can also encourage or discourage me to read a book. For example, a couple of years ago I found a book in the ‘book room’ of our house with the cover torn off called The Distant Mirror: The Calamitous 14th Century by Barbara W. Tuchman. My dad said that he needed to get a new copy of it because it was quite worn but that it was a wonderful book. So I read it, fell in love with it, read Tuchman’s The Guns of August, and hope to eventually to get around to reading the rest of her books. Similarly, my sister and I were talking about Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I was interested in reading it and she already had. She said it was terrible and to prove her point she said that when the main male character was talking about how much he loved the female character he said that he ‘wanted to melt into her like butter on toast.’ Ever since I heard that I have stayed well clear of that book!

Are you influenced in your reading by what other people say?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Booking Through Thursday- 2/7/13

  1. And what if I told you I really love ‘Water for Elephants’? lol 🙂
    Liking or not liking a book can depend on so many things, sometimes it is a sentence or a description that makes you completely hate the book, while perhaps somebody else did not even mind that part.
    If I am not sure about a book, the opinion of other matters, but if I want to read a certain book, I’ll read it. (and if I do not want to read a certain book, I won’t, no matter what!)

    kind regards,

    • hillarypat says:

      “If I am not sure about a book, the opinion of other matters, but if I want to read a certain book, I’ll read it. ”

      I agree with this 100%! If I am on the fence about a book than I am more likely to listen to other people’s opinions, but if I really want to read it 100 people telling me they hated it won’t stop me!

Leave a Reply

