Happy Birthday Charles Dickens!

Happy 201st Birthday Charles!

NPG P301(19),Charles Dickens,by (George) Herbert Watkins

 

     I almost forgot that today is Dickens’ birthday! Charles Dickens is regarded as the greatest novelist of the Victorian Era. He wrote novels, short stories, plays, and non-fiction. Fanda Classiclit is dedicating the entire month to all things Dickens with her Celebrating Dickens Event. I must confess that I have only read one of Dickens’ works- Great Expectations, which I read almost 9 years ago in English my first year of high school. My strongest impression at the time was that although he wrote beautiful descriptions, he was a bit long-winded with them. I actually didn’t remember much of the plot, although I watched the new BBC adaption of the book a few months ago and a lot of it came back. I actually feel quite guilty that I’ve only read one of his books. However, I am remedying  this rather large gap in my reading by reading Bleak House this month! So far I am about 240 pages in and am enjoying it very much. The first 150 pages or so were slow going and I thought that it was just OK, but now that I see how all the different narratives and characters are connected I am liking it much more. I still have a long way to go til I hit the end but I am looking forward to the journey!

What is your favorite work by Dickens? 

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday Charles Dickens!

  1. Pingback: Charles Dickens 2.7.13 Thought of the Day « ritaLOVEStoWRITE

  2. TBM says:

    I have a hard time picking a fave. My top three are David Copperfield, Great Expectations, and Bleak House. My least favorite, so far is Hard Times.

    • hillarypat says:

      I’m reading Bleak House right now and really enjoying it! I don’t really remember much from reading Great Expectations years ago in school; I would like to reread it as I expect that I would enjoy is much more now. The only other book I have by Dickens at the moment is Oliver Twist so that will probably be the next Dickens book I read. I’m really glad I decided to give Dickens a try!

Leave a Reply

