Reading Update

  febs   February is almost half-way over so I though I might give an update on how my reading is going this month as, from looks of the blog and the lack of reviews, it seems that I have not been reading much. The first, and so far only, book that I have completed this month is Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas which I finished early in the month. But although I have not finished anything else since I have been reading, I swear! Here’s what I am in the midst of:
•Bleak House by Charles Dickens-
     Yesterday I hit the halfway point! This book is almost 1,000 pages long and I am making good progress; in fact, I am actually ahead of schedule. The narrative of this book is very complex and there are tons of characters all with their own different subplots, although as the book progresses you begin to see just how all these numerous characters are connected. The book is told from several points of view with the ‘main character’ being Esther. Hers is the only point of view that is told in first person. The first 150 or so pages I thought were just OK but after that, when I understood just how all the characters and narratives were connected, is when I really started enjoying the book. Right now I am loving it! I am so glad that I decided to read it! I am reading this for a challenge and I need to finish it and have the review up at the end of the month. The thought of reading this massive book in a month (and the shortest month of the year no less) was very intimidating as first. But I must say that I am actually enjoying the challenge! It forces me to be more organized in my reading if I am not to fall behind. I can’t express how much I am enjoying reading this book! I’ve only read one other book by Dickens- Great Expectations- and I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this. This book  has made me, dare I say it, a fan of Dickens? Yes, I think so!
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
     I started this book in January as part of a monthly group read over at Goodreads. However, it was obvious to me that I wouldn’t finish this book in a month; I wanted to read other things too and I didn’t want to rush this book. So I decided to read one part of the book a month til I finished. Each part is around 150-200 pages so I thought that this would be easy enough to get through each month while still leaving plenty of time to read whatever else I wanted during the month. I read part one in January as planned and have started part two but I am seeing a problem with my plan. I read most of part one towards the beginning of last month and did not really started reading part two til last week. Starting part two, I felt the trouble of picking up a book I had put down for a while and beginning to read again. I had forgotten some of the details and I have had problems immersing myself in the story again after not reading it for some time. I think the problem is that 150-200 pages for each section of the book is not a lot, and I can read a section fairly quickly and than put the book down, not to be touched again for three weeks or so. I think, for me, my reading style, and this particular book, it would be better for me to read more then one section a month to keep myself fully immersed, and interested, in the story. Right now I can’t really commit to reading more then one section this month as Bleak House is currently taking priority as it is for a challenge, and must be finished this month, and is not a personal goal. However, I think that next month I may try to read section three and four and see if that works better for me, as I suspect it will.
A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson
     I am reading this book as part of a group read. I have been meaning to read this for a while so I am glad of the chance to finally have an excuse to read it! As I expected I am enjoying it, although it is not entirely what I had expected. I love weird and interesting facts and Bryson has a lot of them, including some not-so-weird ones that are just plain amazing and so fantastic that they’re hard to wrap my head around. I am learning a lot about the earth and the universe through reading this! The read along ends next Friday so in about a week and a half expect a review!
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
     I actually haven’t started this book. I wanted to read this book this month because this February is the 50th anniversary of its publication. To be honest I am not sure if I will get to it this month. I would like to at least start it but at this point I am not sure if I will be able to. In fact, I have actually misplaced my copy! It’s in the house somewhere; I had to move some of my books off my main bookshelf because my one year old nephew kept pulling books off the lower shelf so some of my books are now residing in other bookcases strewn over the house. I think I know where it is- in the book room on a shelf behind a another stack of my books- but I haven’t actually gotten around to looking for it. If I don’t get a chance to read this before the months end I would still like to complete it this year.
•other plans
     I had also hoped, if time permitted, to read a book in honor of Black History Month. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas has lately been calling to me. However I think it is fair to say now that this most likely won’t happening. Ah well, así es la vida!

How has February been going for you, reading wise?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

