Look What I Got!

So at the end of last month I entered a giveaway hosted by Rachel at A Home Between the Pages who was giving away a copy of The Jane Austen Handbook: Proper Life Skills from Regency England by Margaret C. Sullivan from Quirk Books in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the publications of Pride and Prejudice. And guess what? I won! I was away this past weekend and when I arrived home it was waiting for me! It’s a really nice hardback copy. Here’s the summary:
jane austen handbookEvery young lady dreams of a life spent exchanging witty asides with a dashing Mr. Darcy, but how should you let him know your intentions? Seek counsel from this charming guide to Jane Austen’s world. Its step-by-step instructions reveal the practicalities of life in Regency England, including sensible advice on:

•  How to behave at your first ball
•  How to ride sidesaddle
•  How to decline an unwanted marriage proposal
•  How to improve your estate
•  How to throw a dinner party

—and much more. Offering readers a glimpse into day-to-day life in Jane Austen’s time, The Jane Austen Handbook is the perfect companion for fans of her novels and their film adaptations, complete with detailed information on love among the social classes, currency, dress, and nuances of graceful living. (from Goodreads)

     This is only third giveaway I’ve won before, and believe it or not, all three books I’ve won have been Pride and Prejudice related! One is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice and one is a version of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol with Darcy in place of Scrooge. I have yet to read either of them; the retelling of Pride and Prejudice seems  like it would be fun to read after I’ve reread Pride and Prejudice later this year. I’ll most likely read The Jane Austen Handbook before then as it is a small book with pretty illustrations and seems like a lot of fun. Thanks again Rachel and Quirk Books for the giveaway! I’m always surprised whenever I win something so this is great!

What’s the last book you’ve won in a giveaway?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Classics, Fiction, Look What I Got!! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Look What I Got!

  1. Beachbums1 says:

    Last book I won in a giveaway was in 2009 ~ “gods behaving badly” by Marie Phillips. Loved it. Very quirky.

Leave a Reply

