The Classics Spin!

classicsclubThe day has arrived for The Classics Spin! And the lucky number is… 14! Number 14 on my list Don Quixote by Miguel de Cerantes. I must confess but I am not very excited about this. According to Goodreads the book is close to 1,000 pages. My library doesn’t actually have a copy of the book so I will have to order it from another branch. To be honest, I am not expecting to finish this by April 1st. Right now, I am about 2/3rds of the way through Bleak House, which I am loving, but I will probably just finish on time for the end of February.Next month is A Modern March, hosted by Allie at A Literary Odyssey. I am planning to read As I Lay Dying, which also counts towards a challenge I’m doing, and one other work which I haven’t yet decided upon. I’m also in the middle of Anna Karenina and I am unsure if I want to wade into another big work at this time. So I’ve decided for this event to order Don Quixote from the library and see how it goes. If I like the book then I’ll keep reading, if not, I’ll return it and wait for a time when I feel like I can devote the time it needs to it.

If you’re participating in The Classics Spin what book will you be reading?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, The Classics Club and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Classics Spin!

  1. Beachbums1 says:

    I’ve been thinking of reading it as well since we’re heading to La Mancha, Spain in April ~ didn’t know it was 1K pages. I better get started!!

  2. severalfourmany says:

    I would blame the person who put it on your list in the first place! 😉

    I’m having a bit of buyer’s remorse with #14 as well. Proust’s Contre Saint-Beuve was one of my longer and more complex choices and is perhaps more than I really want to commit to right now. On the other hand it is nice to have some external motivation as I was always curious about it.

    Don Quixote is very long but is so much fun you may hardly notice. It is one of those books that is good to pick up when you are tired of reading everything else. It can be hard to put down and you may find yourself reading it when you you should be doing something else. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    Curious, now that I think about it, we have both ended up with books that are part novel, part literary criticism. Both books were written to demonstrate new ideas about how literature works and should be written. They alternate between commentary on reading, writing and the function of literature with the fictional narrative that illustrates those ideas. Perhaps we should compare notes as we go.

    • hillarypat says:

      I’m glad to hear that Don Quixote’s a fun book because I am a little intimidated by it. Hopefully I end up loving it so that I don’t have to force myself to actually read it and so that I might have a chance on finishing on time! I must confess that I don’t really know anything about Don Quixote besides the very basics of the plot so it’s good to know that it deals with literature in the broader since- I’ll keep an eye out for that when I’m reading it. Comparing notes could be fun!

  3. TBM says:

    That is a tough draw. i have this book on my shelf but haven’t started it yet. I want to read it, but finding the time is difficult. Good luck and don’t feel pressured.

Leave a Reply

