February Round Up and Looking Toward March

     The second month of the year has flown by and it is hard to believe that we are now in March! I read a lot (for me) this month, but I did not manage to get done everything I had planned. But I’m not going to be too hard on myself; on reflecting I think I scheduled myself for more then I could reasonably accomplish. I did manage to read 6 books this month though, the same as in January. Also, this month somehow turned into ‘Read Books About Jane Austen Month!’ which was not planned; its sometimes funny were reading takes you! This month I read: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson, A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson, Bleak House by Charles Dickens, The Jane Austen Handbook: Proper Life Skills from Regency England by Margaret C. Sullivan, The Real Jane Austen: A Life of Small Things by Paula Byrne, and What Matters in Jane Austen? : Twenty Crucial Questions Solved by John Mullen.
Number of books read: 6
Number of books read this year: 12
Number of fiction read: 2
Number of non-fiction read: 4
Number of pages read: 2,622
Number of pages read this year: 4,492
Book sources for the month: 4 from the library, 2 from my own shelves
Best book of the month: Bleak House by Charles Dickens
Books counted toward challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: Bleak House (2013 “I’ve Always Meant to Read That Book” Challenge), and A Short History of Nearly Everything (read-along)
Bookish events of the month: Celebrating Dickens, for which I read Bleak House and tried to read a book about Dickens’ children (I quit after 20 pages as I didn’t like it)
Here’s what I wanted to accomplish during the month of February:
Bleak House by Charles Dickens (challenge)- done!
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (personal goal)- FAIL!
A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson (read-along)- done!
Part Two of Anna Karenina (up to page 318) by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)- FAIL!
     So I only accomplished about half of what I wanted. What I didn’t finish were personal goals. I didn’t even start The Feminine Mystique, which I wanted to read because this February was the 50th anniversary of its publication. As  for Anna Karenina, I read about 30 pages at the beginning of the month before getting sidetracked. However all is not lost: March is Women’s History Month so I can read The Feminine Mystique this month instead and I won’t feel bad about it being delayed. As for Anna Karenina, I think asking myself to read parts of this book and Bleak House at the same time was asking too much. As I mentioned earlier this month, I think my plan of reading just one part of Anna Karenina is flawed: I read the assigned parts fairly quickly and then I am removed from the story for 3 weeks or so and it is hard to get back in the grove of reading it again. So, I am hoping to read part two, which I did not read in February, AND part three this month. March is also A Modern March over at Allie’s blog which I would like to participate in. Here’s what I want to accomplish in March:
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner (challenge)
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (personal goal)
A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf (event choice)
A Star Called Henry by Roddy Doyle (challenge)
Parts Two and Three of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)
     As I Lay Dying (which I’ve read before and enjoyed) and A Room of One’s One are both fairy short and my reading for Anna Karenina should only be about 300 pages so I think, if I schedule properly, this schedule should be doable. Of course, that’s what I thought for last month as well so we shall see! Before this year I have never really scheduled or kept track of my reading monthly so I am still figuring out what is practical for me and what is too much.
Well, those are my plans for this month- what are your plans?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February Round Up and Looking Toward March

  1. Pingback: Sunday Saloon- 3/10/13 | ahorseandacarrot

  2. Pingback: D is for Daffodils | After the Ecstasy, the Laundry . . .

Leave a Reply

