Top Ten Tuesday- 3/5/13

toptentuesday

 Top Ten Thursday is a meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: Top Ten Series I’d Like to Start but Haven’t Yet.
1. The Welsh Princes Series by Sharon Kay Penman: Welsh Princes! Historical-fiction! War! Romance! Why haven’t I read this yet?
2. Masters of Rome Series by Colleen McCullough: I have not excuse as to why I have not started this series yet, considering that I have the first book in the series. It is a massive book so I will have to carve out some time for it. I haven’t read much fiction that takes place in Ancient Rome so I am hopping for good things with this one!
3. The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett: I also have the first book in this series. I am really excited for it!
4. Kristin Lavransdatter Series by Sigird Undset: This series won Undset the Noble Prize for Literature so I have some high expectations for this one.
5. King Raven Series by Stephin R. Law Head: A retelling of the Robin Hood mythos? Count me in!
6. The Matthew Shardlake Series by C.J. Sansom: A mystery series set during the English Reformation!
7. A Dirge for Prester John Series by Catherynne M. Valente: I learned about the medieval myth of Prester John in college, so when I heard that there was a series written as if the myth was real I immediately added the series to my TBR list!
8. The Sparrow Series by Mary Doria Russell: When an alien world is discovered in the future, it takes years for the United Nations to decide what to do. The Society of Jesuits on the other hand, immediately and silently set off to Rakhat to learn about these other children of God. The plot of this series is so unique sounding, you know it has to be good!
9. The Oxford Time Travel Series by Connie Willis: In the future, historians at Oxford have the ability to travel back in time to directly observe their subject matter. Can’t wait to get to this series!
10. The North and South Series by John Jakes: I can’t wait to read this epic saga about 2 families, one from the South and one from the North, during the Civil War. I’ve heard it can be a little sappy or cheesy but I’m willing to give it a try.

What series are you looking forward to reading soon?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Ten Tuesday- 3/5/13

  1. Pingback: Sunday Saloon- 3/10/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

