Sunday Saloon- 3/10/13

   TSSbadge1  I hope you all are having a lovely weekend! It’s been some weeks since my last Sunday Saloon; I was busy or out of town these last few weekends and I just never got around to making posts! March has arrived and I am happy that spring is starting to arrive. This weekend has been uneventful, although have started packing my books in preparation for a move we will be making 4 months or so. Besides that there is nothing new to report!
     Except for one thing! I won an award! The Liebster award is for bloggers with less then 200 followers; my wasn’t nominated and chosen to win this award- its more of a way to welcome new bloggers to the blogging community and to introduce themselves rather then being a traditional blogging award. caitlinsternwrites nominated me and I couldn’t be happier! Thanks Caitlin!
    liebster award The rules of the award are simple: thanks and mention the person who nominated you, share eleven facts about yourself with fellow bloggers, answer the awarder’s eleven questions, ask eleven questions of your own, and nominate bloggers for the award.
11 facts about me:
• I have five siblings- 4 sisters and a brother
• We currently have 5 cats and 2 dogs here at home
• I am legally blind without my glasses or contacts
• I speak Spanish and very basic Chinese
• I celebrated my 21st birthday on the island of Malta in the middle of the Mediterranean
• my favorite food is cheesecake- and chocolate!
• I hear slightly less well in one of my ears then the other
• I’ve broken both of the bones in my right forearm
• here are my top 5 favorite animals: horses, whales, dogs, and pigs
• I’ve eaten some strange things in my life- snails, reindeer, octopus, and whale to name a few (yes I did eat one of my favorite animals- I still feel guilty)
• my ambition is to be able to support myself as a published write
Here are my answers to the eleven questions my awarder asked:
What is your favorite thing about blogging?: That’s a though one! I would say meeting and interacting with other bloggers who share my love of books and reading!
What is one event from your life that describes perfectly a major personality trait of yours? (Stubbornness, patience, etc): I can hold grudges about stupid things- I’m still mad at that girl in elementary school who used to call me celery!
What books do you reread every year? (Or just a book you’ve reread): I love rereading books that I love but I don’t specifically plan to reread a certain book every year. Two books I have reread multiple times are the entire Harry Potter series and The Captured: A True Story of Abduction by Indians on the Texas Frontier by Scott Zesch.
What (real, non-extinct) animal is your idea of a perfect pet?: Dogs are called man’s best friend for a reason 🙂
What will make you pick up a book and consider reading it? (Topic, author, title, etc.): It depends: pretty covers can get my attention, as can unique titles, topics that I am interested in, or if the blurb on the back is interesting. If any of these things catch my eye I’m likely to open the book to a random page, read, and decide if  I want to read it or not.
What made you decide to start blogging?: I’ve been reading book blogs for a while now and one day I decided I wanted to give it a try. I had a shaking start but I am now oh so glad that I decided to give it a go!
If you had to give up one piece of technology, what would you pick?: TV because you can watch it all online if you know where to look.
What is/are your favorite word(s)?: ‘Slobberychops’ is my favorite word! It’s actually not in use anymore- it was an early colonial word meaning ‘messy eater.’
If you could talk with something that can’t usually speak (animal, vegetable, mineral) what would you pick?: Trees! I would love to hear what some of those really old trees have to say.
What one book would you recommend that everyone read?: This one is hard … I’m going to say Bleak House because it was the last book that I completelyand totally fell in love with.
If you could live in any literary world, which one would you pick?: Harry Potter of course
Here are the eleven questions I would like to ask:
What was your favorite book as a child?
What did you want to be when you grew up? Did your childhood dream come true or did your plans change as you grew older?
If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?
Whose your favorite author and why?
Do you believe in aliens?
What book has had the biggest impact on your life?
What was your favorite subject in school?
What is the last movie you saw in theaters?
What is your favorite blog post you have written on you blog?
How many books do you own (I love finding out the answer to this question for some reason)
Is it still winter where you are or has spring arrived?
     Now it’s time for me to nominate. This was hard. I am still a new blogger and don’t know a substantial amount of people in the blogging community. So I’ve looked at my followers list and tried to pick out those who also seem to be new to blogging. If I’ve picked you and you’ve been blogging for years or have tons of followers please don’t be offended! The decision to accept the award or not is up to you so please don’t feel pressured to accept it if you would prefer not to. I’ve chosen to nominate:
symphonyfromoverseas
Amy’s Library Blog
100 Books, 100 Journeys
Fraps
Styleads
hagiographic
Surrah19
Ocha1995blog

 

Here’s what was posted on the blog this week:
500 Great Books by Women by Erica Beurmeister, Jesse Larsen, and Holly Smith
A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
Wordless Wednesday- 3/6/13
Top Ten Tuesday- 3/5/13
February Round Up and Looking Towards March
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Saloon- 3/10/13

  1. TBM says:

    Congrats on the award. I’m blind without my contacts as well. Once when I didn’t have them in I ran into a wall on my way to the bathroom. I was staying in a hotel. Not sure what hurt more, my body or pride.

    • hillarypat says:

      Ouch! I have had more than my share of accidents from not wearing my contacts- including walking into walls. Luckily for me, these all have occurred at home so I wasn’t too embarrassed!

    • Mabel says:

      One time I was in a mall and tried to walk through one of the full length glass window partitions. I had my contacts in; I am just clumsy. 😉 I looked around to see if anyone had seen me before rubbing my poor head, of course!

  2. Mabel says:

    Oh, trees is a great answer! I’d love to hear them speak too. I imagine them wise and full of stories. Hopefully they wouldn’t be like the mean Wizard of Oz trees! 😆

Leave a Reply

