Happy World Poetry Day!

Happy World Poetry Day!!

     I have never been one for reading much poetry but lately I have been wanting to explore it more. Here’s some poetry that I am hoping to read sooner rather then later:
Sonnets by William Shakespeare (late 1500s)
Psalms– King James Bible (1611)
Songs of Innocence and Experience by William Blake (late 1700′s and early 1800′s)
Final Harvest: Emily Dickinson’s Poems by Emily Dickinson (late 1800′s)
The Collected Poetry of Paul Laurence Dunabr by Paul Laurence Dunbar (late 1800′s)
Plath: Selected Poems by Silvia Plath (first half of 1900′s)

What would you recommend to a relative newbie to poetry? Whose your favorite poet?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy World Poetry Day!

  1. Hi there! All the best with your poetry reading endeavours. I’ve never been one for reading much poetry either. But we did Keats in school and I really loved the Odes. When in the Lake District, I really got into reading Wordsworth. And I always go back to Hilaire Belloc’s Cautionary Tales for Children. They’re wonderful. For the child in us all…

    • hillarypat says:

      I love the Lake District! I actually saw Wordsworth’s grave when I went there but I had forgotten all about it! I definitely plan on checking him out. I haven’t heard of Cautionary Tales for Children before, but seeing as my name is Hillary I would be remiss if I didn’t give them a try. Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. Lee-Anne says:

    Happy Poetry Day!

    I had the same thought a little bit ago and began posting a new (public domain) poem every day or two at:

    http://www.lilyoakpoetry.blogspot.ca

    I also love Mary Oliver and e.e. Cummings.

    The American Library of Congress has a feature on their site where you can look at 180 (non-public domain) poems, and you can sign up to receive a new poem every school day by email. I think it’s called Poetry 180 and is geared for high school students. There are some real gems in that collection. They are all published with permission of the authors.

    Happy Reading!

  3. TBM says:

    goodness, I’m terrible when it comes to poetry. My favorite poet is Dorothy Parker, but that’s because I did a biography study on her in college. She’s very sarcastic.

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Saloon- 3/24/13 | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

