March Round Up and Looking Towards April!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Waster!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter!

Our Easter wasn’t what we expected but it was enjoyable nonetheless. We had planned to have about 10 of our relatives over for Easter Dinner; unfortunately, my youngest sister and my brother woke up yesterday with a terrible vomiting flu. They were really very sick so we ended up canceling with our family which was disappointing but unavoidable. We ended up watching episodes of Black Books though the morning and eating a scale downed version of what he had planned for Easter dinner, after which I had a lovely one hour nap on the couch . I also stuffed myself with dark chocolate throughout the day so Easter was a success in my book!
     Unfortunately I woke up this morning at 6:30 violently ill so it seems I have caught the bug which I am not pleased with at all. I’ve been guzzling poweraide and ginger ale and, now that it’s evening I am feeling well enough to at least start this post, so yay- progress!
     This month I didn’t read as much as I have the past two months of this year but that’s ok! In March I read: A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf, 500 Great Books by Women by Erica Beurmeister, Jesse Larsen, and Holly Smith, A Star Called Henry by Roddy Doyle, and As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner.
Number of books read: 4
Number of books read this year: 16
Number of Fiction read: 2
Number of non-fiction read: 2
Number of pages read: 1,097
Number of pages read this year: 5,589
Book sources for the month: 3 from library; 1 from my own shelves
Best book of the month: A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf- my first Woolf; I loved it!
Books counted toward challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: A Room of One’s Own and As I Lay Dying  (A Modern March); A Star Called Henry (2013 Ireland Challenge); As I Lay Dying (2013 “I’ve Always meant to read that book” challenge). I also read A Room of One’s Own and 500 Great Books by Women in honor of March being Women’s History Month.
Bookish events for the month: A Modern March, for which I read A Room of One’s Own and As I Lay Dying
Here’s what I wanted to accomplish during the month of March:
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner (challenge)- done!
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (personal goal)- FAIL!
A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf (event choice)- done!
A Star Called Henry by Roddy Doyle (challenge)- done!
Parts Two and Three of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)- done!
     So with the exception of once again failing to start The Feminine Mystique I completed all I wanted to! In truth I probably could have at least made a good dent in The Feminine Mystique but for about a week and a half I barely read as I was struggling to read A Star Called Henry which I was very disappointed in; if I am not enjoying a book, after a certain point I usually have no problem not finishing it but this was a book that I had bought years ago and really wanted to get it off my shelves. So, I read it. It was painful, but I did it! And then I donated it so now I don’t have to lug it around with me when I move this summer!
     I think it’s time for me to call it quits with The Feminine Mystique for the time being. I’ve started this book and read the introduction around three times. I’ve liked what I’ve read but for some reason I am having trouble committing myself to it. Oh well! This book is one my Classics Club list so I will get around to it sometime in the next five years. Knowing my progress so far, it will probably be the last book I read for the challenge!
     I also enjoyed what I read of Anna Karenina much more than what I had read in January and March. Part of this is due, I think, to the plot finally picking up. But also I think reading a bigger chunk then what I had previously been doing also helped me to keep my interest. I’m looking forward to reading Parts Four and Five this month- if I keep on track I will be over halfway done by the time May rolls around!
Here’s what I would like to read during April:
 The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (challenge)
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (personal goal)
Parts Four and Five of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)
Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Likes in North Korea by Barbara Demick (read-along)
     I’m really excited to read Sense and Sensibility this month! The copy I have also has footnotes and essays about the book which is great. Not to excited about The Grapes of Wrath though. I read his Of Mice and Men years ago and did not enjoy so I am hoping that I am pleasantly surprised as The Grapes of Wrath is much longer! I’ve already started Ordinary Lives which I am enjoying a lot. There is also a read along of Birdsong going on the month; I checked the book out of the library but I am not sure if I will get to it. At the very least I would like to at least have it started by the end of the month, but we will see. Also, if I can, I would like start the fourth book in the Temeraire series; I got it for Christmas but I haven’t yet read it. I have up to book 6 but for some reason I didn’t have book 4!
     So there you have it: my tentative plan for April. What are you planning to read this month?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to March Round Up and Looking Towards April!

  1. A.M.B. says:

    I re-read Sense and Sensibility recently, and really enjoyed it. It’s not my favorite Jane Austen, but I do love the relationship between Elinor and Marianne and the subtle jabs they make at other characters.

    • hillarypat says:

      I know the plot of the book; I’ve seen the movie but I’ve never read it! The only Austen novel I’ve read is P&P, which I very much enjoyed. Still, I couldn’t believe that I’ve only read that one book by her so I made my self a little challenge to read her first three books this year which I am very excited about!

  2. TBM says:

    I may read Sense and Sensibility later this month. Not sure yet, but that’s the plan so far. I’m so sorry to hear that you got the bug. I hope all of you recover. Not the best way to celebrate Easter.

  3. Mabel says:

    I ADORE Sense & Sensibility!

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Saloon- 4/7/13h | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

