April Round Up and Looking Towards May

    ‘April showers bring May flowers’ is the old adage but, this year at least, May seems to be the designated month of rain. Our rainy season doesn’t usually being til around June but, with daily rain forecasted for the next week, we seem to be getting a preview of things to come later on in the year. I happen to love rain so I, for one, am happy about this development! This has also brought down a nice drop in the heat which is nice as well.
   But on to books! Like March, I read four books this month: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, In the Wake of the Plague: the Black Death and the World It Made by Norman F. Cantor, Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick, and The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. Sense and Sensibility was definitely the star this month by far and In the Wake of the Plague depressingly terrible. This month my reading was ‘ok,’ it wasn’t a spectacular month by any means but it wasn’t God awful so I am satisfied.
Number of books read: 4
Number of books read this year: 20
Number of pages read: 1,374
Number of pages read this year: 6,963
Number of fiction read: 2
Number of non-fiction read: 2
Book sources for the month: all four from the library
Best book of the month: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
Book in the running for Worst Book of the Year: In the Wake of the Plague of Norman F. Cantor
Books counted towards challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: Sense and Sensibility (personal goal); Nothing to Envy (read-along); The Grapes of Wrath (2013 ‘I’ve Always Meant to Read that Book’ Challenge)
Here’s what I hoped to accomplished over April:
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (challenge)- done!
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (personal goal)- done!
Parts Four and Five of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (personal goal)- done!
Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Likes in North Korea by Barbara Demick (read-along)- done!
     Yay, I did everything I wanted! Anna Karenina gave me some trouble this month but not reading-wise. Earlier in the month I had left my copy on the couch only to come back and discover that my 16 month old nephew had ripped of the cover and the first couple of pages! My copy is a hardback from the 1930’s so I was upset but I fixed it up with tape. Then a few days ago I left it out over night and he tore it apart again! Somehow he managed to rip of some of the print on page 5 by way of the tape that I had put on the book’s spine. It took me two times but I finally learned my lesson about leaving old book out in reach of a toddlers grasping little hands.
Here’s what I’m hoping to read for May:
Angel of Repose by Wallace Stegner (challenge)
A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson (read-along)
     I’m also hoping to read The Road to Miyama by Leila Philip which I got out of the library recently. It’s on my list from the books I want to read from 500 Great Books By Women. I’m not sure how much reading I will get done this month as we are moving in June and we have a whole house to pack but I will try my best; I especially want to get to some library books I have checked out since I won’t have the chance to renew them!

What are your plans for May?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

