The Classics Spin #2!

     classicsclubThe Classics Club is having another Spin! Last Spin for me was a miserable failure; I made my list and ended up with Don Quixote. I got the book from the library but never read a single sentence. Part of my problem, I think, was the way I listed my potential reads last time: I listed 10 books that I was looking forward to and then 10 that I was intimidated by. Last time the number ended up being 14- the second half of my list AKA books I didn’t really want to read but where on my list. This time I will follow the suggestions of the people over at The Classics Club about how to structure my list of potential reads for this Spin- I should have trusted them in the first place- they know what they’re doing!

 

So, without further ado:
5 books I am dreading/hesitant to read:
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
Analects by Confucius
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
5 books I can’t wait to read:
Middlemarch by George Eliot
North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
South Riding by Winifred Holtby
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Katherine by Anya Seton
5 books I am neutral about:
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Euxpery
Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
The Life of Charlotte Bronte by Elizabeth Gaskell
5 free choices- 5 rereads:
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan (haven’t actually read this one yet- I ran out of rereads!)

 

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, The Classics Club and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Classics Spin #2!

  1. TBM says:

    I hope it works out better this time. I’m cheering for A Little Prince–such a sweet story.

    • hillarypat says:

      Everyone I’ve ever talked to who has read A Little Prince just loves it- can’t wait to get around to it!

      • severalfourmany says:

        Why wait? The book has twenty-seven short chapters, each barely longer than a few paragraphs. You could probably read it in an hour.
        No Don Quixote this time? I bet they pick Middlemarch for you.

        • severalfourmany says:

          What luck! I called it. Hope you have better luck this time.
          Now if I can only find my copy of the book. I know it is around here somewhere…

  2. Pingback: Sunday Saloon- 5/19/2013 | ahorseandacarrot

  3. Pingback: Classic’s Spin 2 | Several, Four, Many

  4. Pingback: May Roundup and Looking Towards June! | ahorseandacarrot

Leave a Reply

