May Roundup and Looking Towards June!

     Today is the last day of May! I can’t believe the month is over; in exactly a week we will be in our new house! We still have a lot of packing to do this next week and I am not sure when we will be getting internet at the new place, and with settling in/unpacking I will most likely continue to be scarce on here for a while. This month I read: The Black Death by Philip Zeiglar, A Day in a Medieval City by Ciara Frugoni, The Road Through Miyama by Leila Philips, and A Walk Through the Woods: Rediscovering America Along the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson. I also started, and didn’t finish, Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner. The Road Through Miyama was definitely the best book of the month- I loved it! I didn’t read – or at least finish- any fiction this month which is disappointing, but considering that I decided to focus on library books that I had checked out because I won’t get the chance to renew them because of the move I can’t really be too upset about it!
Number of books read: 4 (and one DNF)
Number of books read this year: 24
Number of pages read: 1,350
Number of pages read this year: 8,313
Number of non-fiction read: 4
Number of fiction read: 0!
Book sources for the month: all four from the library
Best book of the month: The Road Through Miyama by Leila Philips
First DNF book of the year: Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner
Books counted towards challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: A Walk Through the Woods (read-along)
Bookish events joined this month: Language Freak Summer Challenge (I’ll be reading Harry Potter y la piedrea  filosofal); The Classics Spin #2 (I got Middlemarch!)
Here’s what I wanted to accomplish this month:
Angel of Repose by Wallace Stegner (challenge)- I DNF’d this one
A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson (read-along)- done!
     I purposely decided not to read Anna Karenina this month because I wanted to focus on library books that I wanted to read before we moved. Here’s what I would like to get done in June but with the move if all of this doesn’t happen I won’t be too upset:
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith (challenge)
Skippy Dies by Paul Murray (challenge)- I’ve had this book forever; excited that I’m finally going to read it!
Parts 6 and 7 of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
     Technically for the Classics Spin I am supposed to have Middlemarch finished by June 30th, but as I am also supposed to have it read during the month of July for a challenge so I am going to start it in June and most likely finish it in July. Anyway these are  my plans, what are yours?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May Roundup and Looking Towards June!

  1. Ekaterina says:

    Oh, poor you, I got Middlemarch for the previous spin, and that’s why I’m not participating in the new one – still haven’t finished it yet 😦 But maybe it’s just me, I don’t want to discourage you 🙂

  2. TBM says:

    I actually really enjoyed Middlemarch, but it is huge

Leave a Reply

