Sunday Saloon- 9/1/2013

TSSbadge1Hello, this is my fist Sunday Saloon in a while. I have been absent from the blog for around two months for various reasons but I am slowly coming back. I’ve missed blogging and reading! Last week I finished The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan which I adored. I am almost done with reading Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal, which I had planned to read for the Language Freak Summer Challenge but still, better late then never! I am also making why way through Pride and Prejudice which I started this week. I read this book before in high school and am enjoying revisiting it. I am also still slowly making my through Anna Karenina which I must confess I am not particularly excited about right now. I’ve taken to keeping it in my car and reading it for about 20 minutes during my lunch break, which isn’t a lot but at least I am slowly making some progress after abandoning it several months.
     Also, I bought 7 books this week! Half of them were from a rare trip to Barnes and Noble and three from Goodwill. The last book is a song book that I bought for my voice lessons that I’ve just started! I won’t say much about them now as I will talk about them tomorrow with the Mailbox Monday feature which God knows I don’t buy nearly enough books to participate in very often!
     Today we went to Agecroft Hall, a Tudor home that was built in Lancashire, England. It was bought in the 1920s and dismantled and shipped over to Richmond where it was rebuilt. It was a really nice visit and the grounds were gorgeous. I really felt like I was back in Lancashire! I studied in Lancaster, Lancashire for my junior year abroad and I really do miss it at times. Here are some of my favorite pictures from today (unfortunately we were not allowed to take pictures inside the house:

124

048

055

072

080

093

101

117

     That’s it for me today- I hope you all had a great weekend!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
Image | This entry was posted in Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

