Mailbox Monday- 9/2/13

“Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.”
Here’s what I got in my mailbox this week!
end of nightThe End of Night: Searching for Darkness in an Age of Artificial Light by Paul Bogard
I’ve heard mixed things about this book but when I picked it up and started reading about the different kinds of roadkill you can find in a rural Wisconsin small town I knew I had to have it!
cleopatraCleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff
This book was pretty popular when it first came out. Again, I’ve heard mixed things about this one but lately I’ve been wanting to know more about ancient Egypt and, with it priced so cheap, I decided to give it a go.
pride and prejudicePride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Yes, I am too late for ‘Austen in August’ but so be it. I love this cover so I snatched this up. I. currently about a quarter of the way through with this; I read it once before in high school and loved it and am enjoying revisiting it. So far, however, I think I like Sense and Sensibility more, although this is very good.
saving fish from drowningSaving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan
     I recently read The Joy Luck Club, my first book by Amy Tan and I absolutely loved it. So last week, when I saw this book by her on a shelf in Goodwill, I immediately snatched it up. Not sure when I will get around to it but I have high hopes for it!
the last of the mohicansThe Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
     This is an edited version of The Last of the Mohicans for children from the 70s with loads of bright, beautiful colorful illustrations. To be honest, I have yet to hear anything positive about The Last of the Mohicans from those who have read it so I thought starting with a children’s version of only 160 pages would be a nice place to start.
children of godChildren of God (The Sparrow #2) by Mary Doria Russell
     This is the second book in The Sparrow series. I have not read the first book, The Sparrow, yet but based on the premise- Jesuit priests in space contacting the first confirmed ‘aliens’- seems right up my ally. I got this one on the cheap- now I just need to get ahold of the first one!
28 italian songs and arias28 Italian Songs and Arias of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries (with 2CDs) based on the Editions of Alessandro Parisotti
   This isn’t a traditional book per say but it is a book, and I bought it this past week like the rest! I’ve started voice lessons and I purchased this book with my teachers advice. I don’t know any of the songs in it yet but I am excited to work through it!

Well, that’s it for me this week. What did you get in your mailbox?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Mailbox Monday, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mailbox Monday- 9/2/13

  1. Gorgeous blog…following by e-mail. I don’t think I have visited before. New Twitter follower too.

    The Amy Tan book looks good.

    ENJOY your week and your books.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  2. Shoshanah says:

    I wanted to read Cleopatra back when it first came out. Of course I never did, but hopefully I’m finally able to add it to my reading list. Happy reading!

  3. Mary says:

    I’m curious about the Amy Tan as I also loved The Joy Luck Club. Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

