The Sunday Saloon- 9/22/13– 100 Followers!!

     TSSbadge1Happy first day of fall! In truth, early fall has been here for at least two weeks. The summer vegetable gardens were pulled up here about three weeks ago, all of the summer corn has been harvested with the exception of a few small patches in some fields that are still drying out, the leaves on the soybeans are turning yellow and brown, pumpkins and apples are starting to ripen, and the last of the meadows have been mowed and the hay stacks put up.
     Along the roadsides Queen Anne’s Lace have mostly disappeared. There are only a few stragglers left and they are looking wane and gray. There are still plenty of Black Eyed Susans about but they are at there peak and will soon begin to fade. Meanwhile, in the last week or so Goldenrod has begun to bloom in great clumps up and down the road. About half of them are already in full bloom and the rest are not far behind.
     Around town, although the rest of the trees remain green, the younger maples have begun to turn. Over the past week they have gone from turning just a branch or two to becoming mostly orange and varying shades of red. On my way to work in the morning I have passed a clearing that has become full of about 30 to 40 Canada Geese foraging in the grass. If there was no other outward signal, these early migrants resting here on a stop over would be sign enough that fall has come.
     As for reading, I finished Winter World by Bernd Heinrich. This one was a mixed bag for me, although I become fonder of it the further I progressed. Winter World is all about how animals survive in the winter, specifically those that live the Maine woods that Heinrich frequents. Even though this was a middle of the road book for me it did get me in the mood for the coming cold and the changing of the seasons. I have also just started The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett and I am not quite sure what I think about it yet. I also have two books that I ordered from Amazon which should arrive early this coming week which I am excited about.
     But the most important news of the day is that I have 100 wordpress followers!! Truth be told, I am not sure how many followers I actually have. I have 136 followers by email but there is of course the possibility that some of my followers by wordpress also subscribe by email so I tend to go by how many followers I have from other wordpress blogs. To each and every one of my followers – thank you. I am always amazed when I see how many people are interested in what I have to say! My blog is a rather small affair but I am having a wonderful time watching it grow and develop and I am so glad that so many of you are along for the ride.
     Other then that, nothing much is going on with me. I am excited about going pumpkin and apple picking in the next few weeks though. I’m really happy that fall is here- it’s my favorite season! What about you, has fall made it to your part of the world yet?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

