October Round Up!

     I hope everyone had a good week. Here fall has literally exploded with color, red, yellows, browns. Leaves are starting to fall in earnest now and its nice to see them drift slowly to the ground out the window. As for reading, this month I finished five books: Bayou Farewell: The Rich Life and Tragic Death of Louisiana’s Coast by Mike Tidwell, Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons, The Medieval World: An Illustrated Atlas by the National Geographic Society, The End of Night: Searching for Natural Darkness in an Age of Artificial Light by Paul Bogard, and The Gerbil Farmer’s Daughter by Holly Robinson. Cold Comfort Farm and The End of Night were somewhat of a disappointment but The Gerbil Farmer’s Daughter was fantastic and really great fun. I only read one fiction book this month which I am not too happy about but what’s done is done. Anyway, here are some of my stats, mostly for my own keeping but of course I hope some of you might find them interesting!
Number of books read this month: 5
Number of books read this year: 41
Number of pages read this month: 1,550
Number of pages read this year: 13,832
Number of non-fiction read this month: 4
Number of fiction read this month: 1
Book sources for the month: 2 from the library, 3 from my shelves
Books counted towards challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: Cold Comfort Farm (challenge)
      Right now I’m about 400 pages into The Meaning of Night, A Confession by Michael Cox which I am enjoying but has a tendency to be rather long-winded. As for the rest of the year I am hoping to read The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, Mansfield Park by Jane Austen, David Copperfield by Charles Dickens as part of the Classics Club sinc read, FINALLY finish Anna Karenina, 1984 by George Orwell, and-hopefully- The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I would also like to get around to reading one of the books from my Children’s Classics list as well. Anyway, that’s the plan, we’ll see if I get around to all of them!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

