The Sunday Saloon- 11/10/13

     TSSbadge1It is Sunday once again! Last week there was an explosion of color in the trees: bright orange, warm yellow and gold, and deep reds. This week the leaves have begun to fade and fall; you can now easily see deep into the woods around our house and spot the squirrel nests in the top of the trees. The trees are thinning and it is getting colder; we even have a chance of some snow flurries next week! I’m still seeing birds flying south overhead but they are in smaller groups now. Meanwhile, the fields of soybeans have finally been harvested and the local birds who will stay behind are forming groups and foraging in the now open fields. I can’t believe that it’s almost Thanksgiving! My mom is already talking of putting the Christmas tree and her holiday decorations up!
     Earlier this week I finished The Meaning of Night: A Confession by Michael Cox which, although it was interesting enough for me to read to the end, ended up being a bit of a disappointment. I’m now reading Mansfield Park; I’m close to 100 pages in and I do think that it is slower going, and a tad less interesting, then Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, but I am enjoying it well enough. When I finish it I’m not sure what I’m going to read next; most likely I’ll start A Woman in White by Wilkie Collins– too late for Halloween but perfect I imagine for these cold, windy, cloudy days and nights we have been having recently.
     Otherwise, things are much the same as usual. I’m excited for Thanksgiving and the coming of colder weather and looking forward to curling up at night with a book, a blanket, and a mug of hot chocolate soon. Now I’m just enjoying Fall and the changing scenery and trying to read as much as I can before the new year. I’m five books behind schedule for my goal on Goodreads-  I don’t know if I’ll make it but I’ll be reading til the end!
     How has Fall been in your part of the world so far? What are you currently reading?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

