November Roundup!

      Another month is gone and Christmas is 20 days away– I can not believe it! The year is almost over which, although I find it hard to believe that another year is gone, the signs are all around me- the leaves are gone and browning on the ground, the sun is waning and weak, even at midday, darkness is closing in earlier and earlier, and the landscape is taking on its muted, winter color. Fall is my favorite time of year but I love this winter as well, and I enjoy this in-between period. As for reading, in November I read five books: The Meaning of Night: A  Confession by Michael Cox; Mansfield Park by Jane Austen; Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens; Flight by Sherman Alexie; and Harry Potter y la Cámara secreta by J. K. Rowling and translated by Adolfo Munoz Garcia and Nieves Martin Azofra (review coming soon!). I also participated in Nonfiction November this month and loved every minute of it!
     This month I read 5 books, all fiction, which was a nice change of pace. I read 2,042 pages for a total of 15,874 pages so far this year. Mansfield Park I read toward my goal of reading the first three of Austen’s books this year and Oliver Twist was one of my Classic Club picks. I read two books form the library and the other three were books that I bought previously. I think it is safe to say that I am not going to make my goal of reading 55 books this year but I am hoping to make it to 50- only 4 more to go! This month I want to read two books from the library that I have already checked out, FINALLY finish Anna Karenina, and make good progress on Ulysses which I am reading as part of a read- along (eek!). That’s the plan anyway!
     The forecast calls for some snow early tomorrow morning so by the afternoon I am hoping to be inside snuggled in a blanket with a mug of hot chocolate and a book!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

