Mailbox Monday-12/8/2013

     I ordered some books and got them in over the weekend! It’s always nice to come home and find a box of books waiting on your doorstep! Here’s what I got:
ulyssesWilliam Blake saw the universe in a grain of sand. Joyce saw it in Dublin, Ireland, on June 16, 1904, a day distinguished by its utter normality. Two characters, Stephen Dedalus and Leopold Bloom, go about their separate business, crossing paths with a gallery of indelible Dubliners. We watch them teach, eat, stroll the streets, argue, and (in Bloom’s case) masturbate. And thanks to the book’s stream-of-consciousness technique–which suggests no mere stream but an impossibly deep, swift-running river–we’re privy to their thoughts, emotions, and memories. The result? Almost every variety of human experience is crammed into the accordian folds of a single day, which makes Ulysses not just an experimental work but the very last word in realism (from Goodreads).
     I am so nervous about reading this book! I am reading it as part of Adam’s read along over at Roof Beam Reader starting December 15. I honestly don’t know how this is going to go but I am going to give it a shot!
emmaBeautiful, clever, rich – and single – Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protegee Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have consequences that she never expected. With its imperfect but charming heroine and its witty and subtle exploration of relationships, Emma is often seen as Jane Austen’s most flawless work (from Goodreads).
     This year I challenged myself to read the first three of Austen’s novels. I am so glad that I did this because I enjoyed all three of them immensely! Emma is Austen’s fourth novel; I plan to continue to the challenge next year with the last three of her books so for January I am set!
harry potter y el prisionero de AzkabanTras haber cumplido los trece años, solo y lejos de sus amigos de Hogwarts, Harry se pelea con su bigotuda tía Marge, a la que convierte en globo, y debe huir en un autobús mágico. Mientras tanto, de la prisión de Azkaban se ha escapado un terrible villano, Sirius Black, un asesino en serie con poderes mágicos que fue cómplice de lord Voldemort y que parece dispuesto a eliminar a Harry del mapa. Y por si esto fuera poco, Harry deberá enfrentarse también a unos terribles monstruos, los dementores, seres abominables capaces de robarles la felicidad a los magos y de borrar todo recuerdo hermoso de aquellos que osan mirarlos. Lo que ninguno de estos malvados personajes sabe es que Harry, con la ayuda de sus fieles amigos Ron y Hermione, es capaz de todo y mucho más (de Goodreads).
     Yes, the above summary is in Spanish but if you can’t tell by the cover picture (and I really hope you can!) this is the third Harry Potter book in Spanish! I minored in Spanish in college but since then I have had ver, very little practice, so earlier this year I decided to read the Harry Potter books in Spanish since I know the story so well. I’m hoping to read this book in January; it usually takes me a month to read each book since I read so much slower in Spanish, but after this book the novels in the series start to get A LOT longer– I’m not sure how I am ever going to get through the rest but I am going to try!
     That’s what I got in my mailbox this week- what about you?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Mailbox Monday, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mailbox Monday-12/8/2013

  1. TBM says:

    Harry Potter in spanish. That’s impressive. I hope you like Emma!

Leave a Reply

