Mailbox Monday- 1/6/2014

   This one is long overdue! I’ve been lucky enough to add quiet a few books to my shelves these past few weeks! First, here are the books I got for Christmas!
On the Art of Singing by Richard Miller

On the Art of Singing by Richard Miller

This is a book of a collection of essays dealing with- you guessed it- singing! Divided into four sections, it gives advice and overview of vocal technique, style and interpretation, professional preparation, and vocal pedagogy. This book will hopefully help me with my singing lessons; I’ll most likely just read the essays relevant to me but if it’s engaging I might read the whole thing and post a review!
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

I love love love this book! I had put both this book and its sequel on my Christmas list last year but only got the second one in the series (Bringing Up the Bodies) — I didn’t make it clear that this was the first one, which is my fault. I read this book about 3 years ago and LOVED it so now that I have the first two I plan on reading this and reading the second one (for the first time) this year. So excited about this!
Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio

Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio

I got this book for Christmas without knowing anything about it. The story concerns a young girl living in rural Kentucky in the 1950s with Tourettes Syndrome. Rural setting? A period piece? An asylum? Count me in!
KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture

KJV Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture

First off let me say that I came across this version of the bible thanks to Mabel over at Mabel’s Reading Room. I’ve been thinking about reading through the Bible for a while; I’ve actually read a good chunk (well, OK, maybe like 300 pages) of the New and Old Testament in high school and, while I like the New Testament, I found the Old Testament so boring! When I became aware of this version though I thought that maybe I should give the Bible another change. After all, this is one of the most important books ever written (and THE most important book in regards to the West and our cultural legacy, I think). As a history major in college I think this version will work out well for me; besides containing (of course) the bible, it also has tables and little sections of archaeological, historical, and cultural information relevant to the passages of the bible on the page. Hopefully these tidbits will keep me focused and interested as I read the Old Testament!
So that’s what I got for Christmas! About two weeks ago though I ordered a book for my sister on Amazon that she needed to read before she went back to school; of course, I bought one for myself and then a few more to get the free shipping! Here’s what I got:
The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

This is the book my sister is reading for school. In high school I don’t remember reading the book but I do remember watching the movie in class. She’s about halfway through now and not enjoying it, unfortunately. When she’s done I plan to add it to my shelves as she doesn’t want to keep it and read it (eventually!).
Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northrup

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northrup

I first found out about this book by all the media reporting on the movie that just came out (unfortunately I missed seeing it in theaters) only to be told by my dad that he read Northrup’s memoir of how he, as a free black man in the North, was kidnapped and sold as a slave in the South where he remained for 12 years before managing to escape, in college. My dad still has vivid memories of reading this book and even lived across the street from the slave market where Solomon was sold for a time! Can’t say that I am ‘excited’ to read this one as I know it will be gut wrenching but i do want to read it.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelly

Frankenstein by Mary Shelly

Everybody knows what this book is about so I am not going to summarize; I’ll only say that its pretty short so it won’t take me that long to get through and that I got for about $2.50 or thereabouts which was great!
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft

A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft

I didn’t plan on it but purchasing Frankenstein and this book at the same time is oddly fitting; Mary Wollstonecraft was the mother of Mary Shelly. In this book, Wollstonecraft argues that an equal education for girls is essential and that woman should be defined by their profession, not their husbands. Obviously a woman ahead of her times, Wollstonecraft was widely ridiculed and lambasted for this book and her other feminist writings. I’ve been wanting to read this book for about a year so I am quite happy to finally own a copy!
Harry Potter y el caliz de fuego by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter y el caliz de fuego by J.K. Rowling

I am currently working my way (slowly) through the Harry Potter series in Spanish. Right now I am just a few chapters into the third one. I’ll admit that I am a little intimidated in regard to this fourth book as it is then that the series starts to consist of substantially longer installments. Still, I am up for the challenge (I hope)!
Well that’s it- and quite enough if you ask me! I’m really happy with all of these books. I just hope that I get around to reading them sooner rather than later!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Mailbox Monday, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

