Mailbox Monday- 1/20/14

     It’s the start of a new week which means that I get to share with you all the wonderful books I’ve collected recently! I went to the bookstore about a week ago with nothing really in mind besides spending some of my Christmas money and this is what I came out with:
The Essential Rumi by Rumi (translated by Coleman Barks)

The Essential Rumi by Rumi (translated by Coleman Barks)

     Rumi was a great 13th century Persian poet and I have been interested in reading him for a while. As part of my goal of reading from an adaptive list I made from The Well Educated Mind, I added his Masnavi to the list. The Masnavi is his greatest and most well-known work and is considered by some to be the best example of mystical poetry. But here’s the thing: it is long–  it consists of six books! That’s a lot, and to be frank I don’t think I will ever get through all of them even if I do find upon starting that I love his poetry. So, when I saw this guy above on a shelf at the bookstore, I grabbed it. In all likelihood I’ll amend my list and put this one in the place of Masnavi.
Shakespeare's Sonnets by William Shakespeare

Shakespeare’s Sonnets by William Shakespeare

     January is the month to read and celebrate all things Shakespeare over at the Classics Club! I’m really thinking of trying to read a play or two of Shakespeare each month this year as I think I’ve only ever read four of his plays and that was years ago in school. So, I thought maybe this would be a good place to start. I had originally been hoping to find a biography of Shakespeare and read that first but the few they had at the store didn’t really appeal to me so I got this instead. I’m still in the beginning of this one- I’ve just finished the ‘procreation sonnets’ so I still have a ways to go but so far I am enjoying it. The edition I have also has ‘A Lover’s Complaint’ as well so I will be reading that too- hopefully before the end of the month!
The Western Canon: The Books and School of the Ages by Harold Bloom

The Western Canon: The Books and School of the Ages by Harold Bloom

     I was actually looking for Bloom’s book about Shakespeare- which the bookstore very inconveniently did not have- when I came across this one. I know that there are some problems with this one and that it seems that most people either love or hate Bloom but I wanted to see what he had to say, so I bought it. I don’t think I’ll be reading this one straight through though, although I could be wrong.
A King's Ransom by Sharon Kay Penman

A King’s Ransom by Sharon Kay Penman

      I’ve been wanting to read Penman for forever as I’m convinced that I’ll like her. I’ve actually had her When Christ and His Saints Slept on my shelf for over a year but I still haven’t managed to get around to it, which is a pity. A King’s Ransom won’t be published until March of this year so I was very lucky to get an advanced copy. However this is a sequel to a book she wrote about King Richard the Lionheart called, you might have guessed, Lionheart, which I have not read. In the previous book she writes about the earlier years of Richard’s life and in A King’s Ransom the focus is on his last five years. Ideally I would read Lionheart first and then this one, but as the book is coming out soon and I want to have my review up before then to let you guys know what I thought and the fact that both books are quite long, I think I might just read this one and then if I like it go back and read the other. I already know what happens to Richard as it is a fictional retelling of his life so I can’t imagine I will be missing too much. Or at least I hope so 🙂
     What new books have you gotten so far this year?
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Mailbox Monday, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

