Sunday Saloon-2/1/14 and Shakespeare in January

     TSSbadge1It’s the first of February! January went by so fast for me; I feel like it was just Christmas but in fact we are already in the second month of 2014! I can’t believe it! Since it’s Sunday, I thought I would do a Sunday Saloon post as I don’t do them all that often, which is a shame as I do have more going on in my life besides books 🙂
These past few weeks we have seen some snowfall, which is right on time for us here in Virginia. It has been colder than usual here this winter with the Polar Vortex and everything but the snowfall here is right on schedule. We should have some more this week; there’s about a 50% chance of 3-6 inches falling on Monday. I also saw in the paper that there’s a 50% chance of 1-2 feet of snow sometime next week (?!) which is a ton for us but as it is still so far in the future I’m not putting too much stock in that yet. I like snow so I am happy that we have reached this time of year as it just makes everything look so pretty.
     As for the reading front…. I started this month off well, for me anyway, but then I sort of fell off the bandwagon this past week and a half. But I’ll talk about that in my monthly round-up post for February which should be up sometime tomorrow. I’m also almost caught all the way up on reviews; I only have one more that needs doing which is great. I was hoping to get through my copy of Shakespeare’s Sonnets by the end of the month as January is a month for celebrating all things Shakespeare over at the Classics Club. Unfortunately, I’m only about halfway through. I am enjoying it immensely though and I’ve worked out a system that works for me where I read through the sonnet and try to get what I can out of it first, then I read it through again while reading the corresponding notes and word definitions, and then I read it through one more time. It does take a while but I like reading them this way as not only am I sure of what he’s actually saying but it also enables me to really appreciate the beauty of his words. Plus, it helps with my critical thinking skills- I’m always pleased when I read it through on my own the first time, then read it along with the notes and discover that I understood just about all that he was saying!
     I’ve been marking down which sonnets I like the best so far, which is harder than I thought as they really are all beautiful and worth reading. So far though, Sonnet 54 is one of my favorites:
O how much more doth beauty beauteous seem, 
By that sweet ornament which truth doth give!
The rose looks fair, but fairer we it deem 
For that sweet odour which doth in it live. 
The canker-blooms have full as deep a dye 
As the perfumed tincture of the roses, 
Hang on such thorns and play as wantonly 
When summer’s breath their masked buds discloses:
But, for their virtue only is their show, 
They live unwoo’d and unrespected fade, 
Die to themselves. Sweet roses do not so; 
Of their sweet deaths are sweetest odours made:
   And so of you, beauteous and lovely youth,
   When that shall fade, my verse distills your truth. 
*sigh* I love reading things like this because it really makes me feel connected to people who lived centuries ago; they felt that same emotions we do, which I know, but reading something like this really brings it home for me. And to see these common emotions and desires written of and evoked so beautifully and with such feeling, and to know these were written by someone who lived so long ago… it just makes me feel very much connected to humanity and all those people who have lived before me.
     ANYWAY, I’ll talk about that more when I actually finish the book- hope everyone is having a great weekend! 
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Memes, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

