January Round Up

     January is over which means that it’s time for my first monthly reading round up of 2014! January started out well for me, reading wise- I finished my first book of 2014 on the first f the month! I kept a steady pace for the first 2/3’s of the month, but for the last week and a half I’ve done very little reading and haven’t managed to finish one book. I did read Ulysses this month which was a very hard book for me and I think it made me a little burned out, so I’m not really begrudging myself the time I spent at the end of January in front of the tv or computer instead of reading. But as it’s a new month I’m trying my best to jump back on the bandwagon. I’m currently in the middle of … three books, I think. I’ve been jumping around a lot lately, which isn’t a bad thing, but when I do that I tend to never settle on anything and it takes me forever to finish a book. So, I think tomorrow I’m going to choose one out of the three to really give my attention to.
     Anyway, in January I read five books: The Girl From Foreign: A Search for Shipwrecked Ancestors, Forgotten Histories, and a Sense of Home by Sadia Shepard, Ulysses by James Joyce, Emma by Jane Austen, Victory of Eagles by Naomi Novik, and Prize Fight: The Race and Rivalry to the First in Science by Morton Meyers.
Number of books read this month: 5
Number of pages read this month: 2,132
Number of nonfiction read: 2
Number of fiction read: 3
Book sources for the month: 1 from the library; 4 from my own shelves
Books counted towards challenges/personal goals/read-alongs: Ulysses (read-along); Emma (personal goal)
New favorite: Emma!
Book I’m most proud of for reading this month: Ulysses (for what I think should be obvious reasons :))
     As for plans for February… I’m not sure. I want to finish reading Shakespeare’s Sonnets as I had been hoping to have finished them by the end of January. February is African-American History month so I think I’ll read 12 Years a Slave by  Solomon Northup sometime this month as well. But as for what else I’m not sure- I think I’ll just play it by ear and see how it goes!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January Round Up

  1. Ekaterina says:

    Ulysses should definitely count as at least three books! 🙂 Congrats on finishing this giant!

Leave a Reply

