Where Have I Been?

     Ok, so I obviously haven’t been on this blog in any serious capacity since the end of January and this has been nagging me in the back of my mind for the last two weeks or so so I thought that I would sit down and write a post as to what I have been up to these past few months. Weather-wise I think it is safe to say that spring is finally here! Last week we has some very light, fluffy snow that quickly melted and now the dogwoods and daffodils are in bloom which is very nice to look out the window and see. Also, rain! It has been raining quite a bit these past two weeks, alternating between drizzling all day and pouring furiously. The sun has been hiding this last half of March which is a bit sad but the rain means that spring is here so I am not too upset by the clouds and wet!
     In other news, things have been changing work-wise for me in several fronts. For starters, at Bed Bath & Beyond the main boss was recently transferred and we now have a new one. I haven’t been around him much so far but he seems fair. Unfortunately, my hours have continued to be cut with only about 15 or so per week for the past month or so. I’m happy to have a job, but BBB is not my passion, and I still need more hours if I want to be able to pay my bills!
     Luckily, I applied for another job WAY BACK in last September. I had an interview earlier this month and I got it! It’s only two days a week and I’m taking a wage cut (which I didn’t think was possible considering what I’m being paid at BBB lol) but it’s at a library and its so cool! I’m basically a low-level assistant and they seem to be taking things really slow, which is alright, but I’m enjoying it so far. Eventually I’ll be at the circulation desk and doing more things but for now I basically get books and stuff off the main floor that patrons from other libraries have requested and discharge them and get them ready to be sent out and sort and reshelve items that patrons have returned. It’s actually strangely relaxing in a weird way and its nice to have a kinda peaceful quiet day after working in the chaos that it BBB on the weekends. Another great thing about this job is that every hour I switch to a new task which is really helpful in keeping things fresh and not becoming bored. And I get an hour for lunch, half of which is paid! Overall I’m really liking it there and the people, especially the lady in charge of training me and whatnot, are really nice. It’s only two days a week, like I said, and it doesn’t pay much at all given that my position is entry-level and doesn’t require any skills or qualifications, but I’m really liking it so far!
     And liking my job (or at least ONE of them) is really important for me as I’ve been feeling really stuck these last few months. It’s been almost two years since I graduated from college and I’m still at home, in a low paying, part-time job, and can barely afford to pay my bills. I try not to get down about it but it can be a bit dispiriting if I stop to think about it. I know the economy is bad and all and I’m grateful to be working, I really am, but sometimes I can’t help but feel rather down about myself and my situation. I know a ton of other people my age are in the exact same boat but it’s still hard sometimes.
     Anyway, I am still alive and am still reading. At the beginning of the year I had all these plans about what I wanted to read and how much etc., and of course that hasn’t happened. I think I’m in a bit of a rut to be honest. Not a reading rut, but a life-rut, if that makes sense. I’ve been thinking about a lot of things and where I want my life to go and although I’ve been reading blogging about my reading has fallen to the wayside. I’m not happy about it but at the same time blogging is not something that I want to force myself to do. I want to blog because I want to, I don’t want to see it as a chore or a responsibility hanging over my shoulder. I’ve talked about this before on here, I think. At the same time though, I don’t want to get so distant from this blog that I eventually abandon it because I get out of the habit of posting. It’s a balancing act, I think.
     I know in the beginning of the year I was talking about how I wanted to focus on Shakespeare this year and read more fiction and all this other stuff…. yeah, that hasn’t happened so far. But that’s ok, I think. I’m still reading, just not posting as consistently. That being said, I am a bit embarrassed about disappearing without a word on the lovely Ekaterina after we had agreed to read the third Harry Potter book in Spanish together. When we talked about reading together I was actually a little ahead of her in the book and she very agreeably sped up til we were at the same spot even though she was in the middle of exams and very busy just so that we could read together. We agreed on a reading schedule which I kept up for a while and then… then I got a bit busy and got so behind that I became embarrassed so I put it off reading it some more and then when I finally did finish I was so behind schedule that I felt really bad and basically just disappeared without saying anything. Which really wasn’t a very nice thing to do, I’m afraid, and actually quite rude. 😦 I’m sorry, Ekaterina, that was a really sucky thing to do.
     Other than that though, I’m not really upset that I haven;t been updating on here in any significant capacity for a while. I do want to start updating more regularly here but I’m not planning on any sort of fixed schedule. I have about three reviews that I need to write and I bought some books a week or so ago so I want to make a post for that. I’ve also been going to the library a lot recently so maybe I’ll talk about that. Or maybe I’ll make a post or two about working in the library in case anyone is curious. 🙂 I don’t know, I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to be approaching this blog in the future but I want to figure it out. Hopefully you’ll start seeing me more active on here from here on out.
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Have I Been?

  1. Congrats on finally getting a job you can enjoy! It’s really important, so don’t worry about the wages 🙂 Also, don’t stress about disappearing from Harry Potter! I understand that life happens, and I still enjoyed the part we read together 🙂 Without you I wouldn’t have read it so fast! 🙂 I’m announcing another Language Freak summer challenge soon, so we can go on for the fourth book if you like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

