Where Have I Been, Part II

     So earlier this year I made a post talking about how I had been absent from the blog lately, that I had a lot going on, but that I was wanting to come back and start blogging again and that I would be around… and then I disappeared for six months and was most obviously not around and not blogging. To be honest, I don’t feel that bad about being absent on here (although I did miss talking to you all on here and seeing what you guys have been up to!) as the last six months have been hectic and have featured a lot of changes, all of which have been for the better, THANK GOD.
    The first, and most important change for me, I think, is that I AM NOT LONGER IN RETAIL, PRAISE JESUS HALLELUJAH!! When I last posted, which was back in March, I was working part-time at a Bed Bath & Beyond and I had just started another part-time job at one of the local libraries here in town. While I was grateful that I had not only one job but two, I admit that it was tough. At that point it was almost two years since I graduated from college, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life (not that I really know now) and I was working 45-55 hours a week, and averaging about 4 days off a month. I’m a classic introvert and working that much, especially in a job like retail where you’re constantly on your feet, and having do deal with people for hours on end, especially when a lot of them are just so rude and demanding (like seriously, so many people are just so completely horrible, you have no idea, its insane)…. yeah, I’m just really really not cut out for retail. Being around people and having to talk to them and greet them and smile at them and just plain interact with them for 8 hours a day, everyday, is really draining for me and just leaves me feeling exhausted when I get home. When I got a day off I just mostly slept, with occasional trips to the kitchen to eat, before crawling back into my warm bed.
Oh, and sometimes I did laundry.
     Anyway, after a couple of months of that I decided that I didn’t want to do it anymore so I got another part-time job at a different library in another library system and quit Bed Bath & Beyond. So now I work at two libraries! I’ve been out of BB&B for a little over a month now ONCE AGAIN PRAISE JESUS ITS A HALLOWEEN-FALL-PUMPKIN SPICE-JACK-O’LANTERN-CANDLE-IN-THE-DARK MIRACLE (and yes, the caps are necessary) and I am SO much happier. Yay! to now more 50 hour work weeks! Yay! to actually having set days off (usually two days a week)! Yay! to never having to work 14-20 days in a row before getting a day off ever again!!!
     You guys, I seriously can’t tell you how much happier and just plain better I feel. I’ve been sleeping better, have more energy, and just in general am feeling a lot more sunny and upbeat then I had been. I didn’t really realize just how much retail was taking out me until I quit doing it. So, this is definitely a change for the better!
     Plus, the new library where I am working at is actually located in the small town that I grew up in when I was little, which is pretty cool. Years ago, before we moved, I remember we used to go there, in its old building on main street. It was a small little place located in two adjacent store fronts and it was just packed, and I mean packed, with books. When I was in like first or second grade a new building was built across the street specifically for the library as it really had outgrown its old home. I remember thinking that the new library building, all brick and with its own parking lot and benches and an actual picnic table outside, was just huge. I thought it was just the coolest thing ever. Of course, it really is just a small town library and is actually quite small; when we moved back in-state and I went back to visit I was actually shocked at how little it seemed! The other library I work at is in the next county over, which is better funded and the building was redone about two years ago so everything there is really new and up-to-date and nice. Also, it’s a bit set back in the suburbs, but its in a more heavily populated area so it gets a lot more traffic then the other one so the feel, and my job, is a bit different. Maybe one day I’ll get around to making a post talking about what I do in both libraries because I would like to talk about it.
     The other big change is that I have made some concrete steps towards actually doing something for my future. As much as I enjoy working at the library (and I really do, most of the time at least 😉 ) I’m still is not making that much money and it’s not something that I would want to do infidelity. But I also really have no clear idea what I do want to do as a career, or at least, no clear enough idea to justify going back to school and racking up even MORE student loans (I try not to think about my loans on my best of days, especially since I now owe more money then back when I graduated because of the criminally high interest rates attached– seriously, I qualify for deferring my loans because I make so little money as it is and yet I’m still racking up thousands of dollars worth of interest while my loans are deferred because I CAN’T AFFORD TO PAY THEM BACK ON MY CURRENT SALARY IN THE FIRST PLACE???? How does that make ANY sense at all?! It just makes me so mad).
     Anyway, sudden rant that I had no intention of actually having aside, for the last year or so I’ve been feeling like I’ve been stuck in a rut. Actually, if I’m honest, it’s really been since I graduated from college. I guess what I’m trying to say here in a sort of round about away and maybe confusing way is that I’ve finally come to the decision that I need a change. I may not know what I want to do with the rest of my life, but I do have a goal that I am excited about (yay for goals! Goals are good things to have, my friends!): I’ve decided that I want to go abroad and teach English, most likely for just a year or so.
     I studied abroad my junior year in college and absolutely loved it. I went to England, a country which I now love dearly (and miss!!), but I also got to travel all over Europe because colleges in England get such long breaks its unbelievable, seriously. Also, they didn’t start school until October- that totally blew my mind when I first hear that. I loved traveling and seeing new places and things and trying new food and taking pictures and Oh look at the building, and look at that, that’s amazing! It’s seriously so much fun.
     So this summer I took a 100 hour course to get certified to teach English as a second language. Currently I’m taking a 40 hour online course specifically about teaching Business English because I think that’s what I would prefer to do. I’m still a little nervous about the teaching aspect of things, although I know that I can be a teacher and, more importantly, I want to be a good teacher and do my best. After I finish the course (which I have till near the ends of December to finish but I’m hoping to complete it before then) I’m going to look around here and see if I can find some volunteer opportunities locally, working with people who don’t speak much, or any, English.  Ideally, I would like to go abroad sometime this coming spring, around March or April. In a perfect world I would get a job somewhere like Denmark, which is a great country that I did not nearly spend enough time in when I visited, but because of demand (or lack there of, I should say) that might be a bit hard to secure. We’ll see.
     So, what does all this mean for the blog? Well, nothing huge, I think. I still want to talk about books and other bookish things and about working at the library, etc. But  also want to talk now about other things that are going on in my life besides books, and possibly not just in a weekly updates format type of thing. I want to talk about going back abroad, and teaching, and how I’m doing when I get there, and all the cool places and people and food over there. So there will a mix here in the future, half bookish talk, half personal/traveling/guys- I-saw-the-coolest-thing-yesterday-you’re-not-going-to-believe-it!
     In regards to the above, I am thinking that I would like to clean up the blog a bit- delete some old tags that weren’t really used, some old features that I only did once or twice, and maybe some old posts that I wrote a while ago but looking back now I really don’t like. I’m going to completely delete and start over with a new ‘about me’ page, I think, and maybe make some other changes. But I’m not in a rush to do this- this won’t be a sudden, drastic overhaul, mostly because I’m lazy and tend to o things slowly and sporadically . I’m going to take it slow, make a few posts these last months of the year about reading and work, and fiddle around here and there with my old content and -hopefully- be ready for a fresh new start in 2015.
     So, to wrap up: it will be the same old blog from before, but with a little extra thrown in. Sound good?
     Also, I would just love to hear what you guys have been up to while I have been away, so please comment if you want and let me know!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

