Nonfiction November Week 1!

     You guys, it’s November which means that Nonfiction November is back!! Nonfiction November is pretty self-nonfiction novemebrexplanatory– it’s a month where we celebrate all things nonfiction! This is the second year of Nonfiction November, which was thought up last year by Kim over at Sophisticated Dorkiness and Leslie over at Regular Rumination. Each week there is a nonfiction topic to discuss. This week’s is Your Year in NonfictionTake a look back at your year of nonfiction and reflect on the following questions – What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? What nonfiction book have you recommended the most? What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet? What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?
     I talked a but about this topic, especially the first two questions,  in this post where I talked about the most notable books that I read this year while I was away from the blog, three of which were nonfiction. I’ll rehash them briefly here:
What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? What nonfiction book have you recommended the most?
     For my favorite, if I had to pick just one, I think I would go with Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals About the Human Mind by Margalit Fox just because I learned so much and was just plain captivated from the first page to the last. This was one of those books that I began thinking it would be enjoyable in the normal sense when in fact the book ended up exceeding my expectations in ways that I didn’t even realize it could. It was just great. It’s also probably the book I ended up recommending the most!
What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet?
     Can I just say everything and have that be my answer? I haven’t been reading close to the amount I usually do these past few months which has of course affected the kinds of nonfiction I’ve read so far this year. If I had to pick, I would say memoirs and essays; I think I’ve only read only one memoir this year and no essays at all! If you have some recommendations for me, especially any collections of nonfiction essays, please please please let me know because knowing how little I have read of either of these types of nonfiction this year so far makes me sad 😦
What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?
     This one is easy- I’m hoping to read more nonfiction, especially some of the ones that I have had on my list for forever. I’m especially thinking about Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink, which I just got from the library and which deals with Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath at a hospital in New Orleans, and Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History by S.C. Gwynne, which I think I bought late last year and still haven’t read.
     I’m also excited because this year there will also be two readalongs during Nonfiction November! Katie at Doing Dewey and Rebecca at I’m Lost in Books will be hosting a readalong of Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff while Kim and Leslie are hosting one on The Restless Sleep: Inside New York City’s Cold Case Squad by Stacy Horn. I already read Cleopatra: A Life earlier this year so I won’t be participating in that one but I hope a lot of you will as it was a wonderful book that I very much enjoyed! I will be participating in the other readalong on The Restless Sleep, although I actually already finished it, yesterday or the day before, I think. I have some thoughts on this book which are making me very curious to see what other people thought of it so I am excited to see what everyone else says on the 19th when the discussion post goes up! Other then the above I don’t have many concrete plans for this month besides reading others people’s thoughts on nonfiction and posting some of my own. Hope everyone is having a good start to Nonfiction November!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, Nonfiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Nonfiction November Week 1!

  1. amymckie says:

    If you’ve visited any of the other nonfiction November intro posts I’m sure you’ve already seen this one… but The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison is a collection of essays that is really incredible. I’ve also heard great things about Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay, though I’ve yet to read it (this month hopefully!).

    • hillarypat says:

      Yes, I’ve heard of the Empathy Exams but for some reason I never realized that it was a collection of essays! Bad Feminist sounds intriguing, I think I might have heard of it before but I hadn’t looked it up before now. Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. You can’t go wrong with Five Days at Memorial. It’s a stunner. I can’t wait to hear what you think about it.

    I’ll be reading The Restless Sleep. I planned on reading Cleopatra as well but after I checked it out from the library I realized that I’ve already read it 😉

    • hillarypat says:

      I’ve been meaning to read Five Days at Memorial ever since it came out. I’m kind of mad that it took me so long to get around to it; I’ve heard nothing but great things about it.

      I really liked The Restless Sleep, although I thought some parts were upsetting to read- but I think that’s expected given the subject matter.

      Cleopatra was a fun book, if I recall correctly. I’m a little bummed that I already read it and so can’t read it along with anyone else.

  3. olduvai says:

    Five Days at Memorial. I should’ve remembered that one when trying to figure out what to read. It’s supposed to be really good! Will check back and see what you think of it!

  4. I listened to the audio version of Five Days at Memorial earlier this year – truly horrifying conditions at the hospital and an interesting outcome. It sure gives you a lot to think about!

  5. Bex says:

    Essays – I read At Large and At Small by Anne Fadiman earlier this year and really loved it 🙂 I’ve also heard really good things about Bad Feminist but not read it yet, and also didn’t realise The Empathy Exams was essays!

    • hillarypat says:

      I’m glad someone else didn’t realize that The Empathy Exams were essays as well! I’ve heard good things about Bad Feminist too- I put it on hold at the library a few days ago so hopefully I get it soon. Thanks for the Anne Fediman rec- I loved her The Spirit Catches You so this looks good!

  6. I’m glad you’ll be joining the readalong! I haven’t started The Restless Sleep yet, but I read one of Stacy Horn’s other books and really liked it. It should be a good discussion!

  7. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 1 Wrap Up | TiaMart Blog

  8. Lu says:

    Thank you for joining in Nonfiction November this month and the readalong! I haven’t started The Restless Sleep yet, though I’m planning on starting today, but I’m very intrigued by what you said. Talking Hands sounds FASCINATING. I took a lot of linguistics classes in college and I miss learning about language and the brain.

    • hillarypat says:

      Talking Hands is really great. It does go pretty in-depth regarding the linguistic aspect of sign language which I really liked; if you took linguistic classes in college and enjoyed them this would definitely be a good choice, I think!

  9. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 2: Become the Expert | Regular Rumination

Leave a Reply

