Classics Club # 8 and Survey

classicsclubAnd the winner is… number 13! Luckily, I had very fortuitously put The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood in slot 13 so yay! I’m finally going to read Atwood. I can’t wait! I probably won’t start it til December when Nonfiction November is over but still- yay! Also, the Classics Club put out a cool 50 question survey yesterday and I thought I would post it here as I feel that I have neglected this challenge as of late. Here are the questions and my answers:

50 (43)Club Questions: 

1. Share a link to your club list.
Here ya go.
2. When did you join The Classics Club? How many titles have you read for the club? 
I joined on January 18, 2013 so almost-but-not-quit two years ago.
3. What are you currently reading?
What am I reading on my Classics Club List or what am I reading, reading?  Currently I am in the middle of several books, two of which are on my list- Le Morte d’Artur by Sir Thomas Malory and The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. I’m reading Le Morte d’Artur as part of Howling Frog’s readalong which I am about halfway through, although I think I am a little behind schedule. The Woman in White I’m reading just because and OMG IT IS SO GOOD. This is the first work I’ve read by Collins and I am liking it so so much. But I have put it aside recently in order to concentrate on Nonfiction November.
I’m also about 100 or so pages in Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink, which is about a hospital in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina and the circumstances that led to several workers facing criminal charges in court, accused of injecting patients with drugs to quicken their deaths.  So far, I am really enjoying it.
4. What did you just finish reading and what did you think of it?
     This past Friday at work I was sorting books at the library in preparation for shelving them and I came across this book called Our Farm: Four Seasons with Five Kids on a Family Farm by Michael J. Rosen. This is a nonfiction book aimed at younger readers around the middle school age. The book follows a family on their small family farm in Ohio for a year and is told through the words of the family. There are a ton of pictures as well. It was a nice quick read, I thought.
5. What are you reading next? Why?
     Well, I kinda already answered that in question three, but once I’m done with those I plan to read Empire of the Summer Moon by S.C. Gwynne next for Nonfiction November, which deals with Quanah Parker and the Comanches. I’m looking forward to it.
6. Best book you’ve read so far with the club, and why?
Oh gosh, this is a hard one. If I had to choose, I think I would say A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. Or maybe The Joy Luck Club. Or maybe Bleak House. I can’t choose! I think those are my three absolute favorites though, so far.
7. Book you most anticipate (or, anticipated) on your club list?
Right now I really want to read Persuasion for some reason, so let’s go with that.
8. Book on your club list you’ve been avoiding, if any? Why?
Well, there are a few:Don Quixote, War and Peace, Crime and Punishment … don’t think I need to explain why I have been consciously avoiding those.
9. First classic you ever read?
I don’t remember exactly but when I was young we had some copies of books from Great Illustrated Classics,which are editions of classic books adapted for young readers with lots of page-sized illustrations in them, and I remember reading some of those: White Fang, Moby Dick, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and The Call of the Wild. I must have been in second grade or around there, I think.
10. Toughest classic you ever read?
Definitely Ulysses. Definitely.
11. Classic that inspired you? or scared you? made you cry? made you angry?
Oh goodness, so many classics have moved me in so many different ways. Some of the ones that left the biggest impact on me have been, Bleak House, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Joy Luck Club (See? There was a reason these were my favorites 🙂 ), Sense and Sensibility, and Frankenstein. 
12. Longest classic you’ve read? Longest classic left on your club list?
Since starting the challenge, the longest one I’ve read was Anna Karenina. The edition I read had 1,090 pages. The longest one I have left is War and Peace.
13. Oldest classic you’ve read? Oldest classic left on your club list?
The Bible? Although I guess that doesn’t count as I haven’t read the whole thing the whole way through. The oldest book on my list- which I still haven’t read, by the way- is Confucius’ Analects, which was written in 300 BC.
14. Favorite biography about a classic author you’ve read — or, the biography on a classic author you most want to read, if any?
I don’t think I actually have read an autobiography on a classic author- oh, never mind, I did read one on Shakespeare by Bill Bryson. I’d like to read biographies on Laura Ingalls, Wilder, Willa Cather, Emily Dickinson, and the Bronte sisters. Oh! I read- and own- the absolutely fabulous The Real Jane Austen: A Life in Small Things by Paula Byrne which is just wonderful. And I saw a biography on Beatrix Potter today while working which looked interesting.
15. Which classic do you think EVERYONE should read? Why?
O I don’t know… I’m going to say Ulysses because it was truly horrible and I hated it and everyone should have to read it and suffer through it just like I did.
Or maybe just read Jane Eyre instead. 🙂
16. Favorite edition of a classic you own, if any?
I have all of Jane Austen’s books in the hardcover editions of Barnes & Noble’s Signature Editions which I like.
Also I have a really worn complete works of Shakespeare book from 1864 with an inscription in it which is kind of cool.
17. Favorite movie adaption of a classic?
The BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. Obviously.
18. Classic which hasn’t been adapted yet (that you know of) which you very much wish would be adapted to film?
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn! Although I don’t know if it would make a good film. Or My Anatonia.
19. Least favorite classic? Why?
Ulysses, if you haven’t caught on already.
20. Name five authors you haven’t read yet whom you cannot wait to read.
Margaret Atwood, Sylvia Plath, Daphne du Maurier, Alexandre Dumas, and Maya Angelou.
21. Which title by one of the five you’ve listed above most excites you and why?
Probably The Count of Monte Cristo which my friends recommended to me ages ago because she absolutely loved it once she read it after her grandmother gave her a copy of it.
22. Have you read a classic you disliked on first read that you tried again and respected, appreciated, or even ended up loving? (This could be with the club or before it.)
I don’t know, I have a few rereads on my list, some of which I didn’t care for that much but I haven’t reread them yet so we’ll see.
23. Which classic character can’t you get out of your head?
Ernest in Frankenstein! I don’t know why but I really really want to know what happened to him. He was left all alone in the end with no idea what really happened.
24. Which classic character most reminds you of yourself?
I don’t know, actually..
25. Which classic character do you most wish you could be like?
Elizabeth in Pride and Prejudice because she marries a hot, rich man.
26. Which classic character reminds you of your best friend?
I don’t know about this one either.
27. If a sudden announcement was made that 500 more pages had been discovered after the original “THE END” on a classic title you read and loved, which title would you most want to keep reading? Or, would you avoid the augmented manuscript in favor of the original? Why?
Ooo this is a hard one. It would depend on the book, I think. If I thought the original ending was satisfying I would probably wait and see what other people think first; I would probably read a short summary of it and if I liked the idea of it I might then read it but If I didn’t I would promptly ignore it and pretend that it didn’t exist.
28. Favorite children’s classic?
Gosh, this is such a hard one. I actually really love classic children’s literature. If I had to pick, I would pick the Little House on the Prairie seines but there are so many other great ones too.
29. Who recommended your first classic?
I don’t remember but I was probably my mother.
30.Whose advice do you always take when it comes to literature. (Recommends the right editions, suggests great titles, etc.)
I have people whose recommendations and opinions I trust but I don’t have someone whose advice I take 100% of the time,no matter what. That would be a bit silly, I think.
31. Favorite memory with a classic?
I don’t know if I have one, if I’m being honest. Although recently my mom was complaining that she had nothing to read so I gave her Persuasion, which I haven’t read yet, and when she was done I asked her how she liked it and she said: “It was very persuasive.” LOL.
32. Classic author you’ve read the most works by?
I think it’s Laura Ingalls Wilder as I’ve read all nine books in her Little House series.
33. Classic author who has the most works on your club list?
Jane Austen!
34. Classic author you own the most books by?
Jane again!
35. Classic title(s) that didn’t make it to your club list that you wish you’d included? (Or, since many people edit their lists as they go, which titles have you added since initially posting your club list?)
I wish I had put something by Shirley Jackson on there.
36. If you could explore one author’s literary career from first publication to last — meaning you have never read this author and want to explore him or her by reading what s/he wrote in order of publication — who would you explore? Obviously this should be an author you haven’t yet read, since you can’t do this experiment on an author you’re already familiar with. 🙂 Or, which author’s work you are familiar with might it have been fun to approach this way?
This is an interesting question. Maybe Oscar Wilde?
37. How many rereads are on your club list? If none, why? If some, which are you most looking forward to, or did you most enjoy?
Let’s see… I have six rereads on my list. So far, I’ve only reread Pride and Prejudice.
38. Has there been a classic title you simply could not finish?
I’m sure there have been, but every book I’ve started for this challenge I have finished so far.
39. Has there been a classic title you expected to dislike and ended up loving?
Bleak House! I don’t know if I expected to dislike it, per se, but I was very much intimidated by it and I ended up loving it! It’s one of my favorites now.
40. Five things you’re looking forward to next year in classic literature?
Reading more classics written by women, reading older classics, adding more classic books to my TBR, crossing more books off my club list, and participating in some readalongs.
41. Classic you are DEFINITELY GOING TO MAKE HAPPEN next year?
Shakespeare! Plath! Thoreau! Dumas!
42. Classic you are NOT GOING TO MAKE HAPPEN next year?
War and Peace for sure. And Don Quixote.
43. Favorite thing about being a member of the Classics Club?
Peeking at other members’ lists.
… And I’m going to stop here because I’m tired and sick and I think I’ll go crawl in my bed and snuggle down for the night. This was fun though!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, Classics, Fiction, The Classics Club and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Classics Club # 8 and Survey

  1. Corinne says:

    Ha ha! I also wondered what happened to Ernest in Frankenstein!! 😀

Leave a Reply

