The Classics Club December Meme

     classic memeThe Classics Club December Meme was posted a few days ago and this one sounds like fun. I’m actually not sure if I’ve ever answered one the monthly memes before but I guess there’s a first time for everything and this is a particularly good time to do one, considering it will be the last one of the year! Here’s the December’s Meme question: Let’s talk about children’s classics! Did you read any classic works as a child? What were your favorites? If not, have you or will you try any classic children’s literature in the future? (We’re aware children often read at an adult level. Please feel free to share adult OR children’s classics that you treasured in childhood OR children’s works that you’ve recently fallen for.)
     This is such an exciting topic! For me anyway 🙂 When I was a child, I did read some classics, although at the time I didn’t realize that they were classics- I just considered them regular books. We had a couple of  copies from the Great Illustrated Classics Collection when I was a kid, which were classic books edited and abridged for younger readers. I read quite a few of these, I remember- White Fang, Moby Dick, Heidi, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Call of the Wild. I also read other classics that we had: Anne Frank, Black Beauty, Misty of Chincoteague, King of the Wind (I had a thing for horses when I was younger, for a time), the Anne of Green Gables series, the Little House on the Prairie books… I read a lot of classics as a child, although like I said I just considered them books back then.
     I also read all those classic books in school like everyone else- some I absolutely hated (I’m looking at you, The Great Gatsby, The Catcher in the Rye, Of Mice and Men, and The Color Purple). Some I had already read by the time we read them in class, like Anne Frank. And some I had either heard of but never read or had never heard of at all before. I was actually quite lucky as a child because many of the books I had to read from elementary school on I ended up loving, or at least liking. I liked Treasure Island, The Crucible, Great Expectations, and Summer of My German Solider well enough and absolutely loved Farmer Boy, The Outsiders, Twelfth Night, Charlotte’s Web, Catherine Called Birdy, To Kill a Mockingbird, As I Lay Dying, A Streetcar Named Desire, and a whole lot of others. Some of those aren’t really classics, I know, but I read them in school and they made an impression on me; I went on to read all the other Little House books and all the other books S.E. Hinton had written as well.
     I also had a wonderful eight grade English teacher. She was super strict but she also introduced us to a lot of good stuff too; I remember she would some of Edgar Allen Poe’s stories to us when it was Halloween; I specifically remember her reading us ‘The Raven’ and ‘The Cask of the Amontillado’. She was really dramatic and would scream some parts or change her voice and stuff. It was kind of creepy. She also introduced us to Nathaniel Hawthorne and Shirley Jackson- I remember her making us students get up and taking turns while we read through ‘The Lottery,’ which I thought was quite shocking but I recall all of us loving it. Also, I had completely forgotten this, but I just remembered that she let me take a book home from her room once and I never returned it. Oops.
      For the past couple of years or so, I haven’t read much- or really any- classics children’s books. This wasn’t on purpose, and I actually have a few classic children’s books on my Classics Club list, some of which are rereads. Now that I’ve given it some thought though, I’m actually quite surprised at how little children’s classics I’ve read in the past couple of years because I’ve always had sort of a soft spot for them. A while ago I actually made a list of children’s classics that I want to read- some of them I’ve read before but a lot of the ones on there I haven’t. I haven’t actually made much progress, or any, really, on this list sine drawing it up but I do have The Little Prince currently checked out from the library so I only need to find a spare hour or so to cross at least one of them off!
     Oh my goodness, I had no idea I would prattle on so much about children’s classics when I started this topic! There’s probably other things that I could say here but I think I’ll stop here for now and end by asking what your favorite children’s classics are?
© Copyright 2011-2014: All posts and content on this blog is property of ahorseandacarrot. Copying content from this blog and posting it elsewhere is stealing; if you would like to share this post with others, please link back here to the full post. Please respect my right to ownership over my original content. If you are seeing this post on a site other than ahorseandacarrot then it has been stolen; alerting me would be much appreciated!
About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, Challenges/Group Reads/ Personal Goals, Children's, Classics, Fiction, Memes, The Classics Club and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Classics Club December Meme

  1. Anne says:

    I, too, read many classics in the Great Illustrated Classics format. Now that I look back it doesn’t seem quite as amazing that I read so many classics since I was consuming these highly abrdiged books. This was a fun blog post. Here are my much delayed answers: Children’s Classics read by Anne

Leave a Reply

