The Classics Spin

classicsclubThe Classics Club is hosting a fun event called The Classics Spin through April 1st. The idea is to, by next Monday, post a list of 20 books that you have yet to read from your classics list. You can pick the 20 books anyway you want- 20 books you can’t wait to read, 20 books you are dreading, etc. On the 18th, next Monday, the folks at the Classics Club will pick a random number and you have til April 1st to read whatever book that number corresponds to on your list. I’ve decided to pick 10 books I am looking forward to read and 10 books that I am not as excited about. Needless to say I hoping that I get a chance to read one of the ones that I’m looking forward to but I figure a 50/50 chance is a fair way to do it. Here’s my list:
10 books I am looking forward to:
1. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
2. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
3. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
5. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas
5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
6. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons
7. South Riding by Winifred Holtby
8. At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill
9. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
10. Katherine by Anya Seton
10 books I am not as excited about: 
11. Little Women by May Louisa Alcott
12. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
13. The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin
14. D0n Quixote by Miguel de Cerantes
15. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
16. 1984 by George Orwell
17. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
18. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
19. Walden by Henry David Thoreau
20. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Have you read any of these?

About hillarypat

I'm a recent college graduate and this is my blog where I talk about whatever happens to be on my mind- mostly books!
This entry was posted in Books, The Classics Club and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Classics Spin

  1. TBM says:

    I’ve read a few from your lists. The Grapes of Wrath is one of my favorite books and I love Steinbeck. I’m hoping for your sake 20 isn’t called. that’s a massive book to read by April 1st.

  2. Mabel says:

    I’ve read Walden. It’s one of my favorites. 🙂 Little Women and Sense & Sensibility are treasured favorites. 🙂

    • hillarypat says:

      I’m really looking forward to getting to Sense and Sensibility! For some reason I’ve had it ingrained in my head that I won’t enjoy Little Women, I’m not sure why. I’m glad you like it though- it gives my hope!

  3. Pingback: Classics Club Spin! « No Thanks, I'd Rather Read

  4. Pingback: Classics Spin « Several, Four, Many

  5. Brona says:

    I’ve read Little Women so often from about the age of 10 that I find it hard to imagine my life (or any life!!) without it. I hope you get that number so you can join the love!!

Leave a comment